OCCRA
Go to Post Mark McLeod, one of the resident experts on compiler weirdness - Kevin Watson [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2010, 02:26 PM
ChristopherBuck's Avatar
ChristopherBuck ChristopherBuck is offline
Registered User
FRC #0612
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 38
ChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the rough
Unhappy No camera images on Driver Station

Hey Everyone. We have yet to get any feedback from the camera to the driver station. we have put on new 2010 default code onto the robot, and everything is up to date. we installed the labview updates, driver station updates, and the .dll (even though we didnt have the problem that it was suposed to fix). It also seems that we have had the same errors before and after updating everything too. Currently, the camera window in the dashboard says "Timeout in Camera Communications". In the diagnostics window, we get errors such as "Error [...] at property node [...] LabVIEW VI Reference is invalid" (this error repeats over and over), and "Error [...] occurred at Camera.lvlib:Issue HTTP Request With Authentication.vi>>Camera.lvlib:READ.JPG [...] Operation failed due to a communication error with the camera". Anyone have any ideas on how we can fix this or what the problem is?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2010, 02:46 PM
Alan Anderson's Avatar
Alan Anderson Alan Anderson is offline
Software Architect
FRC #0045 (TechnoKats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 7,856
Alan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Alan Anderson
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Did you reimage the cRIO after installing the LabVIEW update?

Have you configured the camera as instructed in the control system manual? Can you connect it to a computer and use a web browser to verify that it's at the proper IP address with the FRC/FRC user defined?
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2010, 03:01 PM
heydowns's Avatar
heydowns heydowns is offline
Registered User
AKA: Jeff Downs
FRC #1511 (Rolling Thunder)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Ra-Cha-Cha
Posts: 121
heydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to behold
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Also make sure that the Driver Station update you applied actually did update the dashboard portion of the software as well, as this is the component that actually displays the camera data; several teams, ours included, are having issues with the Drivers Station portion of the software (the lower window) getting updated but the dashboard (upper portion) not being updated.

If your dashboard has updated properly, it will most notably have a "compass-like" display widget on the right side. If it does not have this, then your dashboard has not been updated. The attached screenshot shows the dashboard that will work with the 2010 Vision Demo robot code. We found that un-updated dashboards do not display the camera image as they are out of sync with the data that the vision demo robot code sends.

If yours does not look like this and you have already applied Driver Station update #1 linked from http://www.usfirst.org/frccontrolsystem then these steps may fix it (they did for us):

1. Uninstall the driver station software by running the setup.exe included in Driver Station update #1 and, for each component, choosing uninstall. (note there is no typical Add/Remove Programs uninstaller)
2. Run, again, the setup.exe in Driver Station update #1 this time letting it install everything normally.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dashboard-2010.jpg
Views:	338
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	8339  
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-20-2010, 07:30 PM
joshholat joshholat is offline
Registered User
FRC #0930
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mukwonago
Posts: 24
joshholat is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

My team has updated the drive station as detailed by the FIRST website you linked to. However, we still don't have that gauge on the right hand side that you said should be there with the update. Are we missing something? We've also done that missing file update on our driver station ClassMate
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-20-2010, 10:03 PM
mlim's Avatar
mlim mlim is offline
Registered User
AKA: Michael Lim
FRC #2761 (CN Bronco Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 4
mlim is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Okay, we can access the correct version of the driver station from Developer.... but when we switch to Driver, we have a different driver station that appears on the screen. It doesn't have camera images and it only fills up a forth of the page. What is going wrong here??
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-20-2010, 10:47 PM
heydowns's Avatar
heydowns heydowns is offline
Registered User
AKA: Jeff Downs
FRC #1511 (Rolling Thunder)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Ra-Cha-Cha
Posts: 121
heydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to beholdheydowns is a splendid one to behold
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshholat View Post
My team has updated the drive station as detailed by the FIRST website you linked to. However, we still don't have that gauge on the right hand side that you said should be there with the update. Are we missing something? We've also done that missing file update on our driver station ClassMate
There's a problem with the updater where it doesn't update the dashboard properly. Follow the instructions I posted above (effectively uninstall, reinstall the update) and it should resolve it.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2010, 06:42 AM
ChristopherBuck's Avatar
ChristopherBuck ChristopherBuck is offline
Registered User
FRC #0612
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 38
ChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the rough
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Anderson View Post
Did you reimage the cRIO after installing the LabVIEW update?

Have you configured the camera as instructed in the control system manual? Can you connect it to a computer and use a web browser to verify that it's at the proper IP address with the FRC/FRC user defined?
Yes, I did re-image the cRIO. A few times actually half the time it would throw errors. it was wierd. But most recently it is formatted to the version 19 with labview image. Question, I checked the box "always run deployed code at startup" is that correct? It sounded like what I wanted.

And yes, I checked the camera from a computer and it has the username root and the password admin and its IP address is 192.168.0.90. When I checked this, the camera was streaming images to the computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by heydowns View Post
If yours does not look like this and you have already applied Driver Station update #1 linked from http://www.usfirst.org/frccontrolsystem then these steps may fix it (they did for us):

1. Uninstall the driver station software by running the setup.exe included in Driver Station update #1 and, for each component, choosing uninstall. (note there is no typical Add/Remove Programs uninstaller)
2. Run, again, the setup.exe in Driver Station update #1 this time letting it install everything normally.
Thank you. yes, the Driver station was updated, but the dashboard did not reflect that. So we followed the instructions and now it is the new Dashboard.

However, we still have the same problem :/ It seems weird, but still, after all these updates we cannot get the camera images
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2010, 09:38 AM
Bryscus's Avatar
Bryscus Bryscus is offline
EE, CpE
AKA: Bryce B.
FRC #0180 (SPAM)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 172
Bryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud ofBryscus has much to be proud of
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Please refer to http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=79935 post #68. We recently we're able to get this working and thus posted a setup summary tutorial...

One issue I see, is that you need to create an administrative username and password with FRC and FRC. Also, the dashboard needs to be installed, uninstalled and reinstalled sometimes to actually update. I hope this helps.

- Bryce
__________________
The opulence of the front office decor varies inversely with the fundamental solvency of the firm.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2010, 09:40 AM
Alan Anderson's Avatar
Alan Anderson Alan Anderson is offline
Software Architect
FRC #0045 (TechnoKats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 7,856
Alan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Alan Anderson
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Anderson View Post
Have you configured the camera as instructed in the control system manual? Can you connect it to a computer and use a web browser to verify that it's at the proper IP address with the FRC/FRC user defined?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherBuck View Post
And yes, I checked the camera from a computer and it has the username root and the password admin and its IP address is 192.168.0.90. When I checked this, the camera was streaming images to the computer
Try creating a user with the name "FRC" and password "FRC". That's what the LabVIEW default code tries to connect to the camera with.
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2010, 10:58 AM
ChristopherBuck's Avatar
ChristopherBuck ChristopherBuck is offline
Registered User
FRC #0612
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 38
ChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the rough
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Thanks, but the camera already had an FRC account. I changed it to be an administrator but the problem persists.
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2010, 11:58 AM
Alan Anderson's Avatar
Alan Anderson Alan Anderson is offline
Software Architect
FRC #0045 (TechnoKats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 7,856
Alan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Alan Anderson
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

It sounds like you've got the software and configuration on track, so let's back up a bit to the hardware. How are you powering the camera? Does the light around the lens turn orange when power is applied, then go green after a short while? How are you connecting the camera to the cRIO? Is there a crossover ethernet cable (usually orange or red) between the camera and cRIO port 2? Does the green light on the cRIO ethernet port turn on? How about the yellow one? Are there any other lights visible on the camera?
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-24-2010, 01:12 PM
ChristopherBuck's Avatar
ChristopherBuck ChristopherBuck is offline
Registered User
FRC #0612
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 38
ChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the roughChristopherBuck is a jewel in the rough
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

yup, the camera turns on, and all indicator lights are as they are supposed to be. including the cRIO ethernet port. and yes it is a crossover cable. we are currently testing with wireshark to see if any packets are coming through at all.
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-26-2010, 01:30 PM
camper365 camper365 is offline
Registered User
FRC #1599
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
camper365 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by heydowns View Post
If yours does not look like this and you have already applied Driver Station update #1 linked from http://www.usfirst.org/frccontrolsystem then these steps may fix it (they did for us):

1. Uninstall the driver station software by running the setup.exe included in Driver Station update #1 and, for each component, choosing uninstall. (note there is no typical Add/Remove Programs uninstaller)
2. Run, again, the setup.exe in Driver Station update #1 this time letting it install everything normally.

I can confirm this fix.
__________________
The world only has as much power over you as you let it have.
Linux: Here's the computer, just do stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-29-2010, 12:39 AM
EncodersRUS's Avatar
EncodersRUS EncodersRUS is offline
Zombie repelant in human shape!
AKA: Tom Hewson
FRC #2550 (OCPRO)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Beavercreek, OR
Posts: 30
EncodersRUS is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to EncodersRUS
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Curiously enough, our camera fails to run on the Classmate, but will display on a remote dashboard.

Also, after attempting the update for the DS again, we no longer have the camera SECTION of the DS, but still have the Start/Stop and debug bottom section. Has anyone else had this issue?
__________________
The ultimate fight:

LabVIEW Programming versus people who think rationally...

LabVIEW Junkie and 2011 OCPRO Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-29-2010, 01:12 AM
Alan Anderson's Avatar
Alan Anderson Alan Anderson is offline
Software Architect
FRC #0045 (TechnoKats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 7,856
Alan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Alan Anderson
Re: No camera images on Driver Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by EncodersRUS View Post
Curiously enough, our camera fails to run on the Classmate, but will display on a remote dashboard.
That implies that you don't have the properly updated dashboard on your Classmate. It's a known issue -- the installer doesn't replace the file when it should. The fix/workaround is to run the updater once, telling it to remove the files, then run it again to install things properly.

Quote:
Also, after attempting the update for the DS again, we no longer have the camera SECTION of the DS, but still have the Start/Stop and debug bottom section. Has anyone else had this issue?
The bottom section is the Driver Station application. The top section is the dashboard application. They're separate Windows programs.

The Driver Station remembers whether you told it you want a local or remote dashboard. If you didn't ask for a local dashboard, it won't run it. If you want it back, make sure you tell it you want a local dashboard.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Driver Station Netbook Driver Account and Java joshholat FRC Control System 2 01-10-2010 02:04 PM
Capturing Camera Images to cRIO mgoodell6 Programming 4 03-26-2009 06:24 AM
Driver Station dnrobotics11 Control System 2 02-18-2009 08:35 PM
Camera and driver station viperred396 General Forum 8 02-05-2009 09:12 AM
Driver Station - Camera Feedback sranton Technical Discussion 4 01-13-2009 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi