OCCRA
Go to Post Too many hours of robotics and too little sleep causes me to forget things.... - AdamHeard [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2010, 02:27 PM
a kenny03 a kenny03 is offline
Robotics for life(stupid classmate)
AKA: PICKELL!!!
FRC #0219 (Team Impact)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 65
a kenny03 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to a kenny03
secondary development computer

does anyone know how to send code to the robot through a computer that is not the classmate pc?
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2010, 02:43 PM
Kevka's Avatar
Kevka Kevka is offline
Registered User
FRC #0975
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 9
Kevka is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: secondary development computer

I installed all the development software for java + the driver station software on my laptop yesterday. I didn't have the possibility to actually connect it to the cRIO, but developing programs works.
This moning I started wrting a manual, but I am not completly sure if I wrote the steps down in the right order or if the order matters in the first place.
Here is what I wrote untill now:

How to set up your (Java) Development Computer for FRC 2010
Install the following Programs:
FIRST Robotics Software 2010 - Windows - LabVIEW & NI Utilities: “FRC cRIO imaging tool” + “Setup Axis Camera” from http://joule.ni.com/nidu/cds/view/p/lang/en/id/1534
FIRST Robotics Software 2010 - Windows - Driver Station: “FRC Dashboard” + “FRC Driver Station” from http://joule.ni.com/nidu/cds/view/p/lang/en/id/1535
Java SE Development Kit 6u18 from http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/widget/jdk6.jsp
NetBeans Java IDE from http://netbeans.org/downloads/
Install NetBeans FRC plugins:
Add the following URL to the NetBeans plugin paths: http://first.wpi.edu/FRC/java/netbea...te/updates.xml
Install all the available plugins from the aforementioned source
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2010, 02:43 PM
Alan Anderson's Avatar
Alan Anderson Alan Anderson is offline
Software Architect
FRC #0045 (TechnoKats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
Posts: 7,824
Alan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond reputeAlan Anderson has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Alan Anderson
Re: secondary development computer

Install LabVIEW for FRC on the development computer. Run the mandatory LabVIEW update. Set the IP address on the computer to something compatible with your cRIO's address (10.2.19.6 is probably a good choice for Team 219). Connect it to your router. Follow the regular procedure for building and deploying LabVIEW programs.
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2010, 02:46 PM
Nadav Zingerman Nadav Zingerman is offline
Registered User
FRC #2230
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 90
Nadav Zingerman is a splendid one to beholdNadav Zingerman is a splendid one to beholdNadav Zingerman is a splendid one to beholdNadav Zingerman is a splendid one to beholdNadav Zingerman is a splendid one to beholdNadav Zingerman is a splendid one to beholdNadav Zingerman is a splendid one to behold
Re: secondary development computer

Plug (or use wireless for Classmate) both the classmate and the other computer into the router (not the wireless bridge that goes on the robot). Make sure the Classmate is running the DS software or your code won't run. Be sure to configure All IP addresses properly.

After that all should work.
Good Luck!

Edit: Oops, Alan beat me to it.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run dashboard on development computer railerobotics Programming 6 01-26-2010 08:24 PM
Change IP of development computer? FRC4ME Java 11 01-22-2010 02:13 PM
pic: Secondary Pneumatic Reservoir Array Qbranch Extra Discussion 10 02-09-2008 08:19 PM
White Oaks Secondary School Little Lee132 Chit-Chat 0 04-08-2002 08:51 PM
Secondary Robots K. Skontrianos General Forum 1 03-26-2002 10:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi