OCCRA
Go to Post Dedication to FIRST gets more challenging as life gets more complicated but the rewards are SOOOOO worth it! - Sean Schuff [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-02-2011, 02:33 PM
benjaminDVBD's Avatar
benjaminDVBD benjaminDVBD is offline
Registered User
FRC #3316
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
benjaminDVBD is an unknown quantity at this point
PWM problems

Our jaguar isn't getting output from the sidecard.
we have 4, 2 using PWM and 2 using CAN.
the 2 CAN are working fine (even though they have no code. the light is switched on and isn't blinking)
the other 2 PWM jaguars aren't working. they have code, and yet their light is blinking non stop and are not working (even in the slightest).

we have no idea why this is happening.
we checked the code (including past versions) and it isn;t working.
we checked the cables with the FLUKE and there seems to be no problem.
any ideas (please?)
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-02-2011, 02:53 PM
MagiChau's Avatar
MagiChau MagiChau is offline
Registered User
AKA: Michael Chau
FRC #0085 (B.O.B. (Built on Brains))
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 866
MagiChau is just really niceMagiChau is just really niceMagiChau is just really niceMagiChau is just really nice
Re: PWM problems

Did you update the firmware on the jaguars? That may be one reason.
__________________
2014 FRC Season Hyped
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-02-2011, 03:52 PM
ratdude747's Avatar
ratdude747 ratdude747 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Larry Bolan
no team
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: New Albany, IN
Posts: 756
ratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant futureratdude747 has a brilliant future
Send a message via Skype™ to ratdude747
Re: PWM problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagiChau View Post
Did you update the firmware on the jaguars? That may be one reason.
yes. if you updated the FW on the pwm ones, they will not as they must get a heartbeat signal from the crio over CAN.

if thats the issue, you might have to run all you jags on CAN... not very hard to fix in code and pretty easy to accomplish if you already have CAN elsewhere...
__________________

Dean's List Semi-finalist 2010
1747 Harrison Boiler Robotics 2008-2010
2783 Engineers of Tomorrow 2011
How to wire CAN bus on a budget
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-05-2011, 10:52 PM
dyanoshak dyanoshak is offline
Registered User
AKA: David Yanoshak
FRC #2158 (ausTIN CANs)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 165
dyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond reputedyanoshak has a reputation beyond repute
Re: PWM problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
yes. if you updated the FW on the pwm ones, they will not as they must get a heartbeat signal from the crio over CAN.

if thats the issue, you might have to run all you jags on CAN... not very hard to fix in code and pretty easy to accomplish if you already have CAN elsewhere...
That's not correct. Jaguars with updated firmware will still operate with PWM.

I would check to make sure the PWM cables are plugged into the Jaguar and the digital sidecar in the correct orientation.

-David
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-05-2011, 10:56 PM
Munter2081's Avatar
Munter2081 Munter2081 is offline
Fixes parts that leak smoke
AKA: Darrin Munter
FRC #2081 (Icarus)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 140
Munter2081 is a splendid one to beholdMunter2081 is a splendid one to beholdMunter2081 is a splendid one to beholdMunter2081 is a splendid one to beholdMunter2081 is a splendid one to beholdMunter2081 is a splendid one to beholdMunter2081 is a splendid one to behold
Re: PWM problems

We have had the PWM outputs on the side car be bad, with the 2009 robot.
Try a different output location.
The programmers should be able to change that easily.
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-05-2011, 11:54 PM
XXShadowXX's Avatar
XXShadowXX XXShadowXX is offline
They call me Cody.
no team (None currently :\)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Pontiac; MI
Posts: 408
XXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud ofXXShadowXX has much to be proud of
Send a message via Skype™ to XXShadowXX
Re: PWM problems

Do you also have issues with cRIO connectivity?

2604 had a similar problem to what you are describing. Our drive system is/was 4 wheel CAN mech drive. Then our 'arm' is powered via 4 pwm jags.

The issue we repeatedly had was
"Unable to allocate PWM channel" (as seen in the driver station error window/output text box)

If you have both of these issues what you may want to look at if your labview install, our happened to be corrupted thus our 'compiled' code wasn't actually doing what we programmed it to do. This being the problem all older revisions proved unworkable. (It maybe possible with C++ or Java, I don't know)
__________________
Is now an engineer thanks to FIRST.

Last edited by XXShadowXX : 03-05-2011 at 11:58 PM. Reason: Included more information about the experience.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi