OCCRA
Go to Post I just turned 51 and I'm still not sure what I want to be when I grow up! - Mike Betts [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Other > FIRST Tech Challenge
CD-Events   CD-Media   CD-Spy   FRC-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-07-2011, 04:55 PM
Matthew Blake's Avatar
Matthew Blake Matthew Blake is offline
Registered User
FRC #3481 (Bronc Botz)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Helotes, Texas
Posts: 43
Matthew Blake is an unknown quantity at this point
[FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

Hi, I have a quick question regarding contact with opposing teams crates/crate stacks.

In the rules, we found that rule SG6 states:
"Making contact with an opposing alliance's parked ball crate or stack while in its protected area and/or home zone is not allowed and will result in a major penalty(40 points)."

If we were to contact the opposing alliance's crates with balls through a shooter mechanism, would this violate rule SG6?

Thanks!
__________________
FTC Team 4008: 2009-2012
FTC Team 4602: 2010-2012
FRC Team 3481: 2010-2012
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-08-2011, 10:22 AM
Andrew Remmers's Avatar
Andrew Remmers Andrew Remmers is offline
Registered User
AKA: Andrew Remmers
no team
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 386
Andrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond reputeAndrew Remmers has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Remmers Send a message via Skype™ to Andrew Remmers
Re: [FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Blake View Post
Hi, I have a quick question regarding contact with opposing teams crates/crate stacks.

In the rules, we found that rule SG6 states:
"Making contact with an opposing alliance's parked ball crate or stack while in its protected area and/or home zone is not allowed and will result in a major penalty(40 points)."

If we were to contact the opposing alliance's crates with balls through a shooter mechanism, would this violate rule SG6?

Thanks!
You just said it yourself

Quote:
If we were to contact the opposing alliance's crates with balls through a shooter mechanism, would this violate rule SG6?
I know as a ref I would look through the rule book for that ruling, however I think the standing with most of the refs down here would probably said it would be contacted by your alliance, thus giving you a 40 point penalty. However I will talk with some people about this one to see if it would be considered "illegal", but at first glance it seems TOTALLY illegal.


Here is what I tell teams who want to have strategies aimed at that.

"If the GDC put a 40 point penalty on it, they don't ever want you to consider doing that."

Hope this helps,

- Andrew
__________________
Exploding Bacon 2007-2011

Built and Dangerous (B.A.D) 2011-2012

Community Mentor of Knowledge / School Break 2012-2014

North American Robotics: The MooseEagles Founding Member 2012-Present (VEX U)
2012-2013 (Sack Attack) College Excellence Award
2012-2013 (Sack Attack) College Finalist Award
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-09-2011, 05:30 PM
Matthew Blake's Avatar
Matthew Blake Matthew Blake is offline
Registered User
FRC #3481 (Bronc Botz)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Helotes, Texas
Posts: 43
Matthew Blake is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

If you get any new info please tell!

Thank you!
__________________
FTC Team 4008: 2009-2012
FTC Team 4602: 2010-2012
FRC Team 3481: 2010-2012
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-09-2011, 09:07 PM
maths222 maths222 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Jacob Burroughs
FTC #3785 (Beastie Bots)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 81
maths222 is a name known to allmaths222 is a name known to allmaths222 is a name known to allmaths222 is a name known to allmaths222 is a name known to allmaths222 is a name known to all
Re: [FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

I believe that is incorrect. The only time a team may be called for hitting an opponent's crate while it is being carried is if the robot itself touches the crate. If the robot causes a field element to hit a crate, there should be no penalty unless field damage or robot damage results.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-09-2011, 10:51 PM
Matthew Blake's Avatar
Matthew Blake Matthew Blake is offline
Registered User
FRC #3481 (Bronc Botz)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Helotes, Texas
Posts: 43
Matthew Blake is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: [FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

So is the rule implying direct contact (robot to robot) or any kind of contact that may be caused by the robot by manipulating field elements?
__________________
FTC Team 4008: 2009-2012
FTC Team 4602: 2010-2012
FRC Team 3481: 2010-2012
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-10-2011, 12:07 AM
team F.T.C 4240's Avatar
team F.T.C 4240 team F.T.C 4240 is offline
Two cookies, one robot, all awesome
AKA: Derrick Maust
FTC #4240 (Techno Clovers)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 94
team F.T.C 4240 has a spectacular aura aboutteam F.T.C 4240 has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to team F.T.C 4240
Re: [FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

If you shoot balls at a crate in the safe zone, and it gets knocked down and it changes the score, im positive you will get a 40 point penalty or get disqualified (depends on the ref). ITS CALLED A SAFE ZONE, I wouldn't mess with it. Its a good strategy, but its not worth the risk of disqualification.
__________________
"Like" us on Facebook to get info and updates on the team: http://www.facebook.com/FTCTechnoClovers
2008-09: MD Finalist Alliance Captain, MD Inspire Award Winner, Worlds Division Finalist.
2009-10: MD Winning Alliance Captain, MD Think Award Winner, OH Winning Alliance Captain.
2010-11: MD Finalist Alliance Captain, MD Innovate Award Winner, DE Winning Alliance Captain, Worlds Edison Division Finalist Alliance Captain.
2011-2012: MD Annapolis Qualifier Winning Alliance, PTC Design Winner.
DE State Inspire Award Winner.
MD State Winning Alliance Captain, PTC Design Winner.
World Championship Franklin Winning Alliance, Thanks Landroids and Cougar Robotics!
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 12-10-2011, 10:06 AM
normalmutant's Avatar
normalmutant normalmutant is offline
Registered User
AKA: Nathan
FTC #3539 (Say Watt?)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 126
normalmutant has a spectacular aura aboutnormalmutant has a spectacular aura about
Re: [FTC]: FTC Rules Question - Shooting

You could probably get away with it, but would it really be worth it? It may be more worth your while to make a really solid arm or lift to out-score your opponents. If you bank too much on defensive strategy, you only have your alliance partner to score, and they may or may not be good. It's a little risky with the refs, and risky on the field.
...We actually had the same idea, but decided against it.
__________________
SAY-WATT.ORG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi