View Full Version : firstrobotics.org taken by spammers

10-05-2002, 11:45 PM
Www.firstrobotics.org was registered by PopularEnterprises, a known Spammer and domain squatter, on Oct. 3 . As far as I know, FIRST robotics is not a trademark, but I wonder what FIRST is going to do about this. PopularEnterprises also operates as Netster.com and ItsYourDomain.com and has already upset many people by taking their domain away mere seconds after expiration. Apparently even non-profit organizations are at risk. What should be dome about this? Is anybody else upset?

10-05-2002, 11:52 PM
What did firstrobotics.org used to be?

Rob Colatutto
10-06-2002, 12:45 AM
i dunno if it was anything, firstrobotics.net is a site though, thats probably what he is referring too

Adam Y.
10-06-2002, 03:10 PM
Copyright infringement? what about that?

Jon K.
10-06-2002, 07:17 PM
That may be the same group that took RAGE's old sight right after it expired. It was turned into a link to a porn site but now we have a new one at Rage173.org

10-06-2002, 07:18 PM
I think it may have used to link to www.usfirst.org , but my main concern is that w/ all the new teams and gaining popularity of the program, people are going to go to an obvious www.firstrobotics.org for informaion and end up with a screen full of ads.

Jon K.
10-06-2002, 07:23 PM
Not only ads but a whole boat load of pop-ups....Kill all of the pop-ups