PDA

View Full Version : New Book on history of robot competitions - and FIRSt

gearheads
03-01-2003, 01:01 PM
Hi all, I'm a Newsweek writer with a new book, "Gearheads: the Turbulent Rise of Robotic Sports," published this month by Simon & Schuster. I don't intend to sound overly commercial here, but I think this is something the FIRST community will want to discuss on the forum. My book explores the history of robot competitions going back to Woodie's 2.70 contest at MIT. It tells the real reason Dean came up with FIRST, how he enlisted Woodie, and their fateful clashes with those involved with the more combative versions of the sport.

To get more information or to write me directly, you can check out www.gearheadsthebook.com. But I will check back here occasionally to respond to anyone who wants to discuss the issues I raise in the book.

Good luck to all with this year's FIRST season!

Brad

Jeff_Rice
03-01-2003, 01:15 PM
The site gives me the impression you are focusing on the gladiatorial aspects of robot building with FIRST-like competitions as a comparison. Is this correct? Or does it equally focus on all? Or does it focus on the ones like FIRST?

Well designed site. Did you make it?

Rich Wong
03-01-2003, 01:27 PM
Great, a book for summer reading to
cut down the FIRST Competition withdrawals.

:D

Jeff Waegelin
03-01-2003, 02:29 PM
Well, if done right, this could be some good publicity for FIRST. I'll have to check that book out sometime.

David Kelly
03-01-2003, 02:32 PM
I just purchased this book at Borders for $14. It looks pretty good. Seems to be a lot about Battlebots and Robot wars. There is a pretty good section about FIRST and there is one picture of team's 121 and 335 competing in last years game.

Mr. Stone, an error I did see was on page 209 where you are describing the 2000 game as "coompetition." The game was actually called "Co-Opertition." But it's no biggie :) I look forward to reading your book.

Adam Y.
03-01-2003, 02:36 PM