PDA

View Full Version : sliding boxes


Jeff Rodriguez
03-07-2003, 09:42 PM
i was watching the VCU webcast most of the day. Many team's HPs slid the boxes to each other rather than handing them. A short conversation was sparked up about this in Tigerbolt. At VCU it seemed th refs were allowing it, but at Ohio, i hear they weren't. What was allowed at other regionals, and do you think its legal or not?

sanddrag
03-07-2003, 09:48 PM
At the SCRRF Scrimmage we were tossing them to our ally HP.

Jeff Rodriguez
03-07-2003, 09:51 PM
GM19 Human players can only place or stack containers. They cannot throw the containers.

Sean_330
03-07-2003, 09:54 PM
At the SCRRF scrimmage we only issued warnings b/c it was unofficial but warned the HPs that at a real event, that was against the rules.

Wetzel
03-07-2003, 09:56 PM
Sliding != throwing.

Complete opinion and personal rule interpretation.

Sliding is ok.


Wetzel

Brandon Martus
03-07-2003, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by Wetzel
Sliding != throwing.

Complete opinion and personal rule interpretation.

Sliding is ok.


Wetzel


I agree. Sliding = placing, with a little bit of linear force. :)

dictionary.com says (http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=throw):
throw v
1) To propel through the air with a motion of the hand or arm.

sliding != propel through air.


And, to steal from Wetzel: Complete opinion and personal rule interpretation.

Jeff Waegelin
03-08-2003, 09:25 AM
Did they slide them with the intent of making a stack of 8, or what?

sevisehda
03-08-2003, 10:23 AM
I beleive the spirit of the rule was to prevent people from being injured by flying boxes. More or less sliding is OK in my book.

George1902
03-08-2003, 04:44 PM
all this while the video of this year's game shows the HP's tossing boxes to eachother!! sliding is ok, in my humble (rofl!) opinion.

Jeff Rodriguez
03-08-2003, 04:56 PM
Originally posted by Jeff Waegelin
Did they slide them with the intent of making a stack of 8, or what?

They would slide one box to the other HP to make a stack of 5.

I have also asked FIRST about this through the message boards, let's see what they say.

matt111
03-09-2003, 10:02 AM
at st louis almost every team did this at one time or another

they announced you COULD slid, but not throw

also what if you knock over your stack, is that a penalty casue it dont believe it was called at st loius

Jeff Rodriguez
03-10-2003, 11:24 PM
here you go
http://jive.ilearning.com/thread.jsp?forum=2&thread=2154&tstart=0&trange=30