PDA

View Full Version : Button Bar


Adrian Wong
06-02-2001, 06:49 PM
I have a question about the button bar.

Perhaps its just me, but it runs off the screen, causing a horizontal scroll bar to appear. Is there any chance you can rearrange the buttons (perhaps into an HTML table or use smaller button images) to keep the scroll bar from appear?

Otherwise, looks really nice! :) Perhaps you should have a contest to replace the vBulletin icons with some FIRST-oriented images.

Joel J
06-02-2001, 07:15 PM
One remedy would be to put the buttons below the Header Graphic like this:

http://www.chiefdelphi.com/graphics/banner-less.gif
http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_profile.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_register.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_calendar.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_members.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_faq.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_search.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_home.gif http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/images/top_logout.gif

...and center it at the top of the screen. What do you think Brandon?

David Kelly
06-02-2001, 07:34 PM
The whole bar shows up on mine. Try changing your screen resolution. Personally, I like how it is now.

Joe Ross
06-02-2001, 07:50 PM
It looks fine on 1600x1200 ;)

but yes, a new arrangement would be nice for those who aren't blessed with a recent video card and monitor

Adrian Wong
06-02-2001, 08:15 PM
It's just that the vBulletin forums have what is called a "liquid design". This means that it will flow to fit the window size. (Go ahead and try it out on the front page (http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/).)

The tables and text all reposition themselves depending on the size of their container element. In the case of the button bar, it 'breaks' the liquid design by forcing itself outside of the original table width.

This doesn't show up on higher resolutions, since the button bar can fit within the window container. On lower resolutions (800 x 600, for example), it becomes glaringly obvious.

Just a suggestion. :)

Lora Waloski
06-02-2001, 08:29 PM
Originally posted by Adrian Wong
Perhaps its just me, but it runs off the screen, causing a horizontal scroll bar to appear. Is there any chance you can rearrange the buttons (perhaps into an HTML table or use smaller button images) to keep the scroll bar from appear?

Same thing happens to me....I'm on 800x600 It somewhat annoying, but at least I don't have to use those buttons much.

~ lora

Brandon Martus
06-03-2001, 05:17 AM
Ok.
All fixed. It will wrap now if it doesn't fit on the screen.

I run at 1280x1024 on a 19" monitor, so i didn't notice any size problems

sorry :D

Lora Waloski
06-03-2001, 12:02 PM
Thanks Brandon :D Maybe one of these days I'll get a bigger monitor so I can run at a higher res ;)

~ lora

Joe Ross
06-04-2001, 08:27 PM
The new bar looks great! :)

It still looks best at 1024x768 and above, but it wraps now at lower resolutions :)