OCCRA
Go to Post If only all this food for thought happening in this thread could somehow be funneled into solving world hunger... - artdutra04 [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Pneumatics
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 12:29 PM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McLeod View Post
Then the whole CAN-bus is inoperable.

I'd still suggest testing a single component on the bus at a time with the roboRIO to isolate the issue.
Rewire each connection with new wire-redoing each of the connectors carefully, in case it's a wire whisker type short.

Just use a new set of wires temporarily:

First, directly wire CAN from the roboRIO to the PDP and just see if the PDP then shows up on the configuration page.

Second, just wire the PCM-no PDP (don't bother with a 120ohm terminator for this test), just direct connect it alone to the roboRIO and see if it shows up on the configuration page.
And if this doesn't work, do I have to send out something for repairs?
Reply With Quote
  #17   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 03:05 PM
Tom Line's Avatar
Tom Line Tom Line is offline
Don't lay blame. Fix probems.
FRC #1718 (The Fighting Pi)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Armada, Michigan
Posts: 3,167
Tom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
And if this doesn't work, do I have to send out something for repairs?
Do you have another pcm you can try?
Reply With Quote
  #18   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 03:05 PM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Line View Post
Do you have another pcm you can try?
No I don't.
Reply With Quote
  #19   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 05:06 PM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Also, in case I do have to send it in for repairs, anyone know how much $$ and how long it would take CTRE to repair it?
Reply With Quote
  #20   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 06:54 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is online now
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,685
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

You need to discover from your tests just which of the components might need work, or if it's just a wiring short.
The various suppliers are usually very helpful in getting their products fixed.

Close by teams might also be able to help with the loan of components once you identify just which one is the trouble.
Will you be attending any off-season events, e.g., Brunswick Eruption, where help is also available?
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristotle

Last edited by Mark McLeod : 09-15-2018 at 07:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #21   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 07:38 PM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McLeod View Post
You need to discover from your tests just which of the components might need work, or if it's just a wiring short.
The various suppliers are usually very helpful in getting their products fixed.

Close by teams might also be able to help with the loan of components once you identify just which one is the trouble.
Will you be attending any off-season events, e.g., Brunswick Eruption, where help is also available?
Going to Ramp Riot. Would prefer to fix it before it though.
Reply With Quote
  #22   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 09:45 PM
keco185's Avatar
keco185 keco185 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0484 (Roboforce)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 28
keco185 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Try uninstalling and reinstalling the Pheonix Lifeboat config on the roboRIO
Reply With Quote
  #23   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 10:18 PM
philso philso is offline
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,677
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
Also, in case I do have to send it in for repairs, anyone know how much $$ and how long it would take CTRE to repair it?
A couple of years ago, CRTE gave me a price of around $20 for replacing the Weidmuller connectors on a VRM. If you have a dead CAN chip, I would expect a similar price. I did not end up sending it in so I don't know how long it would take them to turn around a repair.

It would be best if YOU PHONE CTRE to find out how much the will charge for the particular repair you need and how long it will take them. They are pretty easy to talk to and very helpful.

Have you tried swapping in a new RoboRio? If it turns out your RoboRio has a bad CAN chip, you should phone National Instruments to find out how much they would charge and how long it would take them to fix it for your.

Last edited by philso : 09-15-2018 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-16-2018, 08:47 AM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by philso View Post

Have you tried swapping in a new RoboRio? If it turns out your RoboRio has a bad CAN chip, you should phone National Instruments to find out how much they would charge and how long it would take them to fix it for your.
Don't currently have any spare electronics to swap in or out. How can we tell if it is the roborio thats the issue without having to swap it out?
Reply With Quote
  #25   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-16-2018, 12:21 PM
philso philso is offline
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,677
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
Don't currently have any spare electronics to swap in or out. How can we tell if it is the roborio thats the issue without having to swap it out?
Can you get in touch with a team near you and borrow one? Swapping in a know working RoboRio is the simplest and fastest way of determining if it is the CAN transciever chips in your RoboRio that are the problem. That would be the first step I take with the boards I design at work.


If forced to troubleshoot a situation like this where I have only one sample of the board available, I would be using an oscilloscope to monitor the CAN lines to make sure the output waveforms went to the appropriate voltages at the appropriate times.


Has your team ever had the PCM working?
Reply With Quote
  #26   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-19-2018, 02:22 PM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by philso View Post
Can you get in touch with a team near you and borrow one? Swapping in a know working RoboRio is the simplest and fastest way of determining if it is the CAN transciever chips in your RoboRio that are the problem. That would be the first step I take with the boards I design at work.


If forced to troubleshoot a situation like this where I have only one sample of the board available, I would be using an oscilloscope to monitor the CAN lines to make sure the output waveforms went to the appropriate voltages at the appropriate times.


Has your team ever had the PCM working?
No we have never had a PCM working and I might be able to get a RoboRio from another team.
Reply With Quote
  #27   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-19-2018, 08:33 PM
philso philso is offline
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,677
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
No we have never had a PCM working and I might be able to get a RoboRio from another team.

This might be a good time to find a team near you that is successfully using the CAN bus and meet with them. Preferably, find one using the same programming language that you are using. Bring your robot and programming laptops when you visit them. If you have never been able to get a PCM to work, you may have some sort of software issue. They may see something that you don't know is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #28   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-19-2018, 08:45 PM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Al Skierkiewicz Al Skierkiewicz is offline
Chief Robot Inspector
AKA: Big Al WFFA 2005
FRC #0111 (WildStang)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 11,137
Al Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

After looking through the thread, this thought jumps to mind. Please check that all the CAN bus wiring has been stripped. I have a number of teams each year that have the CAN wires installed but they were never stripped or at least not stripped to the correct length. Try a pair of wires between the PDP and the RoboRio only and see if you can address the PDP as suggested above.
__________________
Good Luck All. Learn something new, everyday!
Al
WB9UVJ
www.wildstang.org
________________________
Knowledge is power. Power UP!
Reply With Quote
  #29   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-20-2018, 09:33 AM
philso philso is offline
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,677
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Skierkiewicz View Post
After looking through the thread, this thought jumps to mind. Please check that all the CAN bus wiring has been stripped. I have a number of teams each year that have the CAN wires installed but they were never stripped or at least not stripped to the correct length. Try a pair of wires between the PDP and the RoboRio only and see if you can address the PDP as suggested above.
Yes! The Users Manual for the PDP and PCM gives the strip length needed to make a proper connection. These manuals can be found on the CTRE web page for each of these products.
Reply With Quote
  #30   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 06:44 PM
risho900 risho900 is online now
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 155
risho900 has a spectacular aura aboutrisho900 has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pneumatic System Help

I tried all these suggestions and nothing worked. Roborio power light is still red and when I connected Roborio to PDP with CAN, the CAN lights on PDP were still blinking orange. Nothing appeared on roborio web dashboard either.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi