Go to Post Our team has one goal: be ourselves. - PayneTrain [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 09:26 AM
itzrobz itzrobz is offline
Registered User
None #0333
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 29
itzrobz is an unknown quantity at this point
Camera Help

LabView is unable to find my camera, but i am able to upload code to it. What could be wrong?

-Programming Cable is Connected to Camera
-PWM1 and PWM2 are servos pan and tilt, respectively
-The TTL chip is connected to the RC.

Thanks for your time.
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 10:12 AM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,638
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Help

To use Labview with the camera:
- Connect the camera directly to the PC via serial cable.
- Connect the camera power only to an RC PWM, analog or digital pin.
- Do not connect the camera to the RC TTL port.
- The RC and OI must be powered up and communicating.
- The camera must be switched on

You can have either Labview or the RC controlling the camera but not both at the same time. Trying to only confuses the camera since it doesn't know who to listen to.
__________________
2018 Beta Testing Results

  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 10:22 AM
itzrobz itzrobz is offline
Registered User
None #0333
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 29
itzrobz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Help

The Camera Servos are connected to the RC. If i wanted to control those servos would I have to connect Camera or the RC?
In order to read the Camera output, would i have to combine the FRC code and the Camera code or upload the FRC code to RC and Camera code to camera?

Last edited by itzrobz : 01-14-2007 at 10:25 AM.
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 10:28 AM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,638
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Help

We only download our code to the RC not to the camera. That code in the RC handles setting up the camera.
We can send commands directly to the camera through Labview or a terminal emulation program on your PC to play around, but in competition we'll only be working through the RC code.

Labview cannot be used to test drive the camera servos with this year's model of the camera. It can play with the other camera controls, and help you focus the camera lens.

To run the camera with the servos, then disconnect your PC from the camera and connect the camera instead to the TTL port on the RC.
There are two ways to program your RC 1) MPLAB 2) EasyC.
For MPLAB download Kevin Watson's camera code from http://kevin.org/frc/, specifically start with http://kevin.org/frc/frc_camera_2.zip and use IFI_Loader to download the enclosed hex file to your RC.
For EasyC o to http://www.intelitekdownloads.com/easyCPRO/ for the code and post specific questions about it on this CD sub-forum http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=155
__________________
2018 Beta Testing Results


Last edited by Mark McLeod : 01-14-2007 at 10:39 AM.
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 10:30 AM
itzrobz itzrobz is offline
Registered User
None #0333
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 29
itzrobz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Help

That would mean I would have to combine the camera code and the FRC code and upload them to the RC?

Sorry, I am new to this.
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 10:47 AM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,638
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Help

Sorry to throw so much at you.

Yes, you'll need to combine your code, but start with just the camera code to make sure you figure out how that works first.

Start simple and build up.
__________________
2018 Beta Testing Results

  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-14-2007, 10:52 AM
itzrobz itzrobz is offline
Registered User
None #0333
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 29
itzrobz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Help

Alright I understand what to do. Thanks for the help.
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-18-2007, 03:13 PM
Bomberofdoom's Avatar
Bomberofdoom Bomberofdoom is offline
Biggest FIRST addict in Israel
AKA: Nir Levanon
FRC #2230 (Zcharia's Angels)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 471
Bomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Bomberofdoom
Re: Camera Help

How does the connection of the camera for the Kevin's MPLab Camera code go?(or in simple english, how do I connect for he MPLab CMU code?)
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2007, 09:36 AM
itzrobz itzrobz is offline
Registered User
None #0333
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 29
itzrobz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Help

you upload the code to the RC. ONLY the PWMs and the TTL should be connected from the RC to the Camera
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-22-2007, 07:05 AM
Bomberofdoom's Avatar
Bomberofdoom Bomberofdoom is offline
Biggest FIRST addict in Israel
AKA: Nir Levanon
FRC #2230 (Zcharia's Angels)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 471
Bomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Bomberofdoom
Re: Camera Help

Ok, wait. We had the camera working with LabVIEW. We're supposed to connect the camera to the TTL, the RC to the comp', pass the MPLab camera program to the RC and then take out the TTL, connect the CMU to the comp' and then use LabVIEW to calibrate?
If so, how?(and please don't send me to even more manuals, I try to read them but evantually I barely understand what they tell me to do ).
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-22-2007, 07:31 AM
Imajie Imajie is offline
Registered User
AKA: James Letendre
FRC #0195 (Cyber Knights)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Southington
Posts: 113
Imajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud ofImajie has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to Imajie
Re: Camera Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bomberofdoom View Post
Ok, wait. We had the camera working with LabVIEW. We're supposed to connect the camera to the TTL, the RC to the comp', pass the MPLab camera program to the RC and then take out the TTL, connect the CMU to the comp' and then use LabVIEW to calibrate?
If so, how?(and please don't send me to even more manuals, I try to read them but evantually I barely understand what they tell me to do ).
Once you load the program to the RC leave the TLL connected to the camera so the RC knows what the camera is seeing. You only need to have the camera connected to the computer to calibrate it. Hope that helps a little.
__________________
2007 UTC Champions Thanks 1124 and 558
2007 UTC GM Industrial Design Award

2006 Newton Divisional Winners
2006 Championship finalists
(Thanks 25 and 968 for picking us!)
2006 National Innovation in Control
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-22-2007, 09:11 AM
Bomberofdoom's Avatar
Bomberofdoom Bomberofdoom is offline
Biggest FIRST addict in Israel
AKA: Nir Levanon
FRC #2230 (Zcharia's Angels)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 471
Bomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond reputeBomberofdoom has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to Bomberofdoom
Re: Camera Help

We loaded the program, it worked once(found the light), but the servos didn't move. Then we realized that we put the camera power and the Servo PWM cables to the Digital IO . We fixed it, put them all in the PWM output, didn't work. Put the power in the Digital IO. Didn't work.
What now????
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-24-2007, 10:38 AM
itzrobz itzrobz is offline
Registered User
None #0333
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BROOKLYN
Posts: 29
itzrobz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Camera Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bomberofdoom View Post
We loaded the program, it worked once(found the light), but the servos didn't move. Then we realized that we put the camera power and the Servo PWM cables to the Digital IO . We fixed it, put them all in the PWM output, didn't work. Put the power in the Digital IO. Didn't work.
What now????
SERVOS get plugged into the PWM.
As for the Camera Power, if PWM dont power it try plugging it into the Analog, thats what we did.
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-24-2007, 10:47 AM
Kingofl337's Avatar
Kingofl337 Kingofl337 is offline
You didn't see anything....
AKA: Adam
FRC #0501 (Power Knights)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 861
Kingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond reputeKingofl337 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Kingofl337
Re: Camera Help

I also recommend using the Digital or Analog outputs to power the camera. To make the servo's move make sure you have your backup battery charged. You can check to see if the OI is reporting low backup battery.
__________________
FIRST Team 501 PowerKnights - Mentor
FIRST Team 40 Checkmate - Mentor Alum
FIRST Team 146 Blue Lightning - Alumni
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-24-2007, 03:41 PM
Kevin Watson's Avatar
Kevin Watson Kevin Watson is offline
La Caņada High School
FRC #2429
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: La Caņada, California
Posts: 1,335
Kevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond reputeKevin Watson has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Camera Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingofl337 View Post
I also recommend using the Digital or Analog outputs to power the camera.
Perhaps I'm totally ignorant, but why do you continue to advise teams to do this?

-Kevin
__________________
Kevin Watson
Engineer at stealth-mode startup
http://kevin.org
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera HELP! yarb65 Programming 5 01-29-2007 08:58 PM
Camera help needed bluisnake Programming 9 08-08-2006 01:58 PM
Camera Help (New to Camera Programming) Idaman323 Programming 6 01-14-2006 02:56 AM
camera help! |20807 61|2|_ Programming 5 01-08-2006 01:44 PM
camera help needed Anton Programming 0 02-17-2005 05:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi