OCCRA
Go to Post This isn't about practical, it's about having fun and thinking outside the box... tetrahedron.... whatever....:rolleyes: - Cyberguy34000 [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 11:01 AM
FRC6055's Avatar
FRC6055 FRC6055 is offline
MUSE
AKA: Austin Muse
FRC #6055 (BOSS)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Batesville,AR
Posts: 26
FRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to all
Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Our team has been working on a few off season projects and last night our drive station started acting very odd. We can connect the laptop to the radio and the computer shows a wireless connection. However, when we open the FRC dashboard, it never shows that we have a connection to the robot. We have tried 3 different radios and it does it for all 3, we have tried multiple computers, we have tried re-configuring the radios. I have tried everything I can think of and it just won't work. If it is something that needs to be fixed in the network setting, I don't know how to fix it. I am about to pull my hair out! Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.
__________________


2016 Arkansas Rock City Regional Winner & Rookie All-Stars

"Mr. Muse, where is the 8/13" wrench?"
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 11:11 AM
ngreen ngreen is offline
Mentor
AKA: Nelson Green
FRC #1108 (Panther Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 1,052
ngreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by FRC6055 View Post
Our team has been working on a few off season projects and last night our drive station started acting very odd. We can connect the laptop to the radio and the computer shows a wireless connection. However, when we open the FRC dashboard, it never shows that we have a connection to the robot. We have tried 3 different radios and it does it for all 3, we have tried multiple computers, we have tried re-configuring the radios. I have tried everything I can think of and it just won't work. If it is something that needs to be fixed in the network setting, I don't know how to fix it. I am about to pull my hair out! Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.
Last time the students couldn't connect, the problem was not yet changing the team number in the DS. The laptop had been updated, so that DS hadn't been used yet.

Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 11:23 AM
Bryan Herbst's Avatar
Bryan Herbst Bryan Herbst is offline
Registered User
AKA: Bryan
FRC #2052 (KnightKrawler)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 628
Bryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond reputeBryan Herbst has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

It sounds like you've done some great troubleshooting with the radio.

Since you mention the DS doesn't have a connection to the robot, the next step would be to take a look at the roboRIO and the connection between the RIO and the radio.

Is there any activity on the lights on the RIO's ethernet port? If not, is the ethernet cable seated properly?

Is the RIO configured properly? What do the lights on the RIO show?
__________________
Team 2052- KnightKrawler
Mentor and volunteer
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 12:12 PM
FRC6055's Avatar
FRC6055 FRC6055 is offline
MUSE
AKA: Austin Muse
FRC #6055 (BOSS)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Batesville,AR
Posts: 26
FRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to all
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

I have changed the settings in the DS to our team number 6055. On the RIO the the Power light is on and the RSL light is on, all others are off. On the radio, the power light is illuminated blue, the wifi light is illuminated orange and the light closest to the power is blue (the one with a W on it). The fourth light is off.
__________________


2016 Arkansas Rock City Regional Winner & Rookie All-Stars

"Mr. Muse, where is the 8/13" wrench?"
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 12:18 PM
AriMB's Avatar
AriMB AriMB is online now
The Philadelphian emigrant
AKA: Ari Meles-Braverman
FRC #5987 (Galaxia)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 1,728
AriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Some questions:
Can you ping the roborio? (type "ping roborio-TEAM-frc" in the command prompt, replacing TEAM with your team number)
Can you load the webdash? (in Internet Explorer, go to "roborio-TEAM-frc.local")
Can you connect if you plug straight into the roborio, bypassing the radio?
Can you connect if you plug into the roborio via USB B?
__________________
Studying MechE at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
2017-present: FIRST Israel CSA/FTAA
2017-present: FRC 5987 Technical Mentor 18isr2 18isr4 18isrcmp 18carv
2012-2016: FRC 423 Member 15njtab 15padre 16paphi
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 12:18 PM
FRC6055's Avatar
FRC6055 FRC6055 is offline
MUSE
AKA: Austin Muse
FRC #6055 (BOSS)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Batesville,AR
Posts: 26
FRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to all
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

The ethernet port on the RIO is green as well.
__________________


2016 Arkansas Rock City Regional Winner & Rookie All-Stars

"Mr. Muse, where is the 8/13" wrench?"
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 01:17 PM
FRC6055's Avatar
FRC6055 FRC6055 is offline
MUSE
AKA: Austin Muse
FRC #6055 (BOSS)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Batesville,AR
Posts: 26
FRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to all
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by AriMB View Post
Some questions:
Can you ping the roborio? (type "ping roborio-TEAM-frc" in the command prompt, replacing TEAM with your team number)
Can you load the webdash? (in Internet Explorer, go to "roborio-TEAM-frc.local")
Can you connect if you plug straight into the roborio, bypassing the radio?
Can you connect if you plug into the roborio via USB B?
I cannot ping the roborio.

I cannot load the webdash.

I cannot connect via ethernet by bypassing the radio.

I CAN connect via USB B to the roborio.
__________________


2016 Arkansas Rock City Regional Winner & Rookie All-Stars

"Mr. Muse, where is the 8/13" wrench?"
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 01:37 PM
AriMB's Avatar
AriMB AriMB is online now
The Philadelphian emigrant
AKA: Ari Meles-Braverman
FRC #5987 (Galaxia)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 1,728
AriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by FRC6055 View Post
I cannot ping the roborio.

I cannot load the webdash.

I cannot connect via ethernet by bypassing the radio.

I CAN connect via USB B to the roborio.
Interesting. Just to be sure, did you have the WiFi network adapter disabled when connecting via ethernet and the LAN network adapter disabled when connecting over WiFi?

Do you have all firewalls disabled? (Windows 7 comes with 2 by default, Windows 10 comes with 3) Also disable all antivirus software, etc.
__________________
Studying MechE at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
2017-present: FIRST Israel CSA/FTAA
2017-present: FRC 5987 Technical Mentor 18isr2 18isr4 18isrcmp 18carv
2012-2016: FRC 423 Member 15njtab 15padre 16paphi
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 01:51 PM
FRC6055's Avatar
FRC6055 FRC6055 is offline
MUSE
AKA: Austin Muse
FRC #6055 (BOSS)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Batesville,AR
Posts: 26
FRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to all
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

I am working on the firewall settings right now as we speak. I am on a school computer so my IT guys scream at me for wanting to disable firewalls. I am allowing the DS app through the firewall but that still isn't letting me connect to the robot. I guess my best option is to convince the IT guys to act against their own will and let me disable the firewalls completely.
__________________


2016 Arkansas Rock City Regional Winner & Rookie All-Stars

"Mr. Muse, where is the 8/13" wrench?"
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 02:29 PM
GeeTwo GeeTwo is offline
In Transition
AKA: Gus Michel II
no team
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,914
GeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by FRC6055 View Post
I am working on the firewall settings right now as we speak. I am on a school computer so my IT guys scream at me for wanting to disable firewalls. I am allowing the DS app through the firewall but that still isn't letting me connect to the robot. I guess my best option is to convince the IT guys to act against their own will and let me disable the firewalls completely.
The best answer is really to have a completely separate computer for your driver station, that never touches the internet, and only connects wirelessly to the robot. Port software to it via USB sticks. Unless you're doing vision processing or similar on your driver station, you really don't need much horsepower; an atom-based computer like the classmate in the rookie kit is sufficient. When you need to connect the robot to an internet/LAN computer (e.g. to load software or do testing), use the USB cable.
__________________

If you can't find time to do it right, how are you going to find time to do it over?
If you don't pass it on, it never happened.
Robots are great, but inspiration is the reason we're here.
Friends don't let friends use master links.
[Quoting brennonbrimhall]: We design a new robot every year, but we can't forget that we also design a new team every year as folks come and go.

Last edited by GeeTwo : 09-21-2018 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 02:44 PM
ngreen ngreen is offline
Mentor
AKA: Nelson Green
FRC #1108 (Panther Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 1,052
ngreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond reputengreen has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Another area that you could look is to make sure network configuration isn't mixed. I'd check the webdash and then on DS to make sure it is good there.

Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-21-2018, 09:38 PM
FRC6055's Avatar
FRC6055 FRC6055 is offline
MUSE
AKA: Austin Muse
FRC #6055 (BOSS)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Batesville,AR
Posts: 26
FRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to allFRC6055 is a name known to all
Re: Drive Station Not recognizing connection

Well the issue has been fixed. It was one of those situations that when you do enough troubleshooting steps, something was bound to work. I am not 100% what the fix was, but we were able to get it to connect with 3 different laptops. We even got it to deploy code wirelessly as well. Thank you for your help everyone.
__________________


2016 Arkansas Rock City Regional Winner & Rookie All-Stars

"Mr. Muse, where is the 8/13" wrench?"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi