Go to Post Sleep... what is this sleep you speak of? - Choi9111 [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 06:52 PM
jinggeorge jinggeorge is offline
Registered User
FRC #0128
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 30
jinggeorge is an unknown quantity at this point
toggle switch wiring

we got toggle switches. which ports should they plug into on the roboRIO
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 07:09 PM
Mr.R^2 Mr.R^2 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6762
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hillsboro, NH
Posts: 33
Mr.R^2 is on a distinguished road
I would assume they work like limit switches, and therefore would be wired to the DIO port. I could be wrong though.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 07:25 PM
garyk garyk is offline
Programming Mentor, 972 and 2643
FRC #2643 (Dark Matter)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Santa Clara (Silicon Valley) Calif.
Posts: 169
garyk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant future
Re: toggle switch wiring

Into the DIO (Digital Input-Output) port. These are SPST (single pole single throw switches)? You need to connect to the ground pin of the DIO port, corresponding to the black wire of a PWM cable and the outside pin of the DIO port. Either connector of the SPST can go to this pin. The remaing connector of the switch goes to the signal pin of the DIO port, which is the inside pin. That signal connection corresponds to the white wire of the PWM cable. DO NOT connect anything to the 5V (center pin) of the DIO port.

You don’t need the 5V pin because the signal pin has a weak (high resistance) voltage provided for just this purpose. In electronics parlance it’s “Pulled Up”.

BTW this is exactly how a limit switch is connected. A limit switch is not a special kind of switch, rather a switch we use for limiting the movement of an articulation on our ‘bots.
__________________

Silicon Valley Regional 2005, 2006 972
Silicon Valley Regional 2007 668 Xerox Creativity Award
Championship Event 2007 668
Portland Regional 2008 668
Silicon Valley Regional 2008 668, 972
Beta Test Team 2008 668 (with 100 & 254)
Silicon Valley Regional 2009 668 Regional Chairman's Award; 2643
Sacramento Regional 2009 668 Winning Alliance (thanks, 1717 & 2473!), 2010 Winning Alliance 3256
CalGames 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 Field Tech
NorCal FTC Regional 2008, 2009 Inspector
Championship Event 2009
San Diego, Silicon Valley Regionals; Champ. Event 2010 668, 2643, 3256
Silicon Valley, Madera Regional 2012 2643
WRRF Programming Instructor 2006-2016
Regional Woodie Flowers Award 2014 2643 Utah Regional

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi