OCCRA
Go to Post Jenny - thanks for not beating any of our team members up with their own MOE sticks! That must have taken some willpower to hold yourself back! - Mr MOE [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Technical Discussion
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2017, 06:32 PM
RyStrider's Avatar
RyStrider RyStrider is offline
Registered User
FRC #0589 (CVHS Falkon Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 7
RyStrider is an unknown quantity at this point
Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

I keep getting this strange error:

BUILD FAILED
C:\Users\*******\wpilib\java\current\ant\build.xml :345: com.jcraft.jsch.JSchException: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect

Total time: 9 seconds

I've tried anything I can think of...

Anyone know what could be causing this? I believe it is my computer.

Thanks for your time,
Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2017, 06:40 PM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
WPILib Developer
FRC #0294 (Beach Cities Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 325
Peter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant future
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

There should be a message immediately in the build console before this error. Have you installed the JRE on your roboRio?

Quote:
Checking for JRE. If this fails install the JRE using these instructions: https://wpilib.screenstepslive.com/s...ller-java-only
__________________
Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC

2010 FRC World Champions (294, 67, 177)
2007 FTC World Champions (30, 74, 23)
2001 FRC National Champions (71, 294, 125, 365, 279)
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2017, 06:43 PM
RyStrider's Avatar
RyStrider RyStrider is offline
Registered User
FRC #0589 (CVHS Falkon Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 7
RyStrider is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

10 Minutes ago, I just re-imaged and reinstalled java on our roboRIO to see if that was the problem. It did not fix it. The only time I receive that error is when I attempt to connect wirelessly. Could it by my radio?

Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2017, 06:50 PM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
WPILib Developer
FRC #0294 (Beach Cities Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 325
Peter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant future
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyStrider View Post
10 Minutes ago, I just re-imaged and reinstalled java on our roboRIO to see if that was the problem. It did not fix it. The only time I receive that error is when I attempt to connect wirelessly. Could it by my radio?
It could be, but does the DS connect? Can you ping the roboRio? Connect to the roboRio web console? If you're making it to that point in the script you should be able to get to the web console (as it makes a HTTP request to validate the image version immediately prior to that). Do you have any firewall software running? Might be worth downloading PuTTY and trying to ssh in manually to see if that works.
__________________
Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC

2010 FRC World Champions (294, 67, 177)
2007 FTC World Champions (30, 74, 23)
2001 FRC National Champions (71, 294, 125, 365, 279)
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-04-2017, 12:57 PM
RyStrider's Avatar
RyStrider RyStrider is offline
Registered User
FRC #0589 (CVHS Falkon Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 7
RyStrider is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

I can connect to and enable the robot through a connection with the D-Link. However, I can only deploy code over a bridge, and I cannot deploy code through a connection with the D-Link.

When i attempted to connect to the roboRIO by the IP Address I saw in Eclipse (which worked in Eclipse), puTTY gave me a similar error: "Connection refused".

Not sure what to do from here except try other D-Links.

Thanks,
Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-04-2017, 04:12 PM
euhlmann's Avatar
euhlmann euhlmann is offline
CTO, Programmer
AKA: Erik Uhlmann
FRC #2877 (LigerBots)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 453
euhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud of
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Could you post the full ant output please?
__________________
Creator of SmartDashboard.js, an extensible nodejs/webkit replacement for SmartDashboard


https://ligerbots.org
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-04-2017, 04:19 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,213
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Can you ping these DNS names:
- roboRIO-589-frc
- roboRIO-589-frc.local
- roboRIO-589-frc.lan
- roboRIO-589-frc.frc-robot.local
__________________
Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth. Marcus Aurelius (paraphrased)
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-06-2017, 08:31 PM
RyStrider's Avatar
RyStrider RyStrider is offline
Registered User
FRC #0589 (CVHS Falkon Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 7
RyStrider is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Here's the Full Output:

Buildfile: C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\build.xml
Trying to override old definition of task classloader
clean:
[delete] Deleting directory C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\build
[delete] Deleting directory C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\dist
compile:
[mkdir] Created dir: C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\build
[echo] [athena-compile] Compiling src with classpath=C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\user\java\lib\CTRL ib.jar;C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\user\java\lib\niVisio nWPI.jar;C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\java\current\lib\WP ILib.jar;C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\java\current\lib\Ne tworkTables.jar;C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\java\current \lib\opencv.jar;C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\java\current \lib\cscore.jar to build
[javac] Compiling 8 source files to C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\build
jar:
[echo] [athena-jar] Making jar dist/FRCUserProgram.jar.
[mkdir] Created dir: C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\dist
[mkdir] Created dir: C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\build\jars
[echo] [athena-jar] Copying jars to build/jars.
[copy] Copying 6 files to C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\build\jars
[jar] Building jar: C:\Users\rystr\FRC\589 Test Robot\dist\FRCUserProgram.jar
get-target-ip:
[echo] Finding roboRIO, please ignore any [hostinfo] error messages
[echo] Trying DNS: roboRIO-589-FRC.lan
[echo] Trying mDNS: roboRIO-589-FRC.local
[echo] Trying USB: 172.22.11.2
[echo] Trying Static Ethernet: 10.5.89.2
[hostinfo] Error retrieving remote host information for host:roboRIO-589-FRC.lan.
[echo] Resolved mDNS to 10.5.89.51
[echo] roboRIO found at 10.5.89.51
dependencies:
[echo] roboRIO image version validated
[echo] Checking for JRE. If this fails install the JRE using these instructions: https://wpilib.screenstepslive.com/s...ller-java-only
[sshexec] Connecting to 10.5.89.51:22

BUILD FAILED
C:\Users\rystr\wpilib\java\current\ant\build.xml:3 45: com.jcraft.jsch.JSchException: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect

Total time: 9 seconds


In Regards to pinging the four different addresses, all of them gave me the same error. (I pinged them using puTTY set on SSH, Let me know if that it the wrong type)

Thanks for your help so far. Still trying to figure this out!

Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-07-2017, 10:39 AM
euhlmann's Avatar
euhlmann euhlmann is offline
CTO, Programmer
AKA: Erik Uhlmann
FRC #2877 (LigerBots)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 453
euhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud of
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Check your firewall on your computer. Temporarily disable it and see if deploying works. If yes, then re-enable your firewall and add a rule for outgoing port 21 connections.

If that doesn't work, try re-imaging your roboRIO
__________________
Creator of SmartDashboard.js, an extensible nodejs/webkit replacement for SmartDashboard


https://ligerbots.org
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-11-2017, 12:15 PM
RyStrider's Avatar
RyStrider RyStrider is offline
Registered User
FRC #0589 (CVHS Falkon Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 7
RyStrider is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

We just set up our final electronics board with brand new parts. I also tried turning off my firewall but even with that and new parts, my computer still cannot deploy code through a 5GHZ link with a D-Link.

Anyone have any other ideas?

-Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-12-2017, 02:50 PM
euhlmann's Avatar
euhlmann euhlmann is offline
CTO, Programmer
AKA: Erik Uhlmann
FRC #2877 (LigerBots)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 453
euhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud ofeuhlmann has much to be proud of
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Quote:
Originally Posted by euhlmann View Post
add a rule for outgoing port 21 connections
Oops, I meant port 22. The port for SSH/SCP

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyStrider View Post
We just set up our final electronics board with brand new parts. I also tried turning off my firewall but even with that and new parts, my computer still cannot deploy code through a 5GHZ link with a D-Link.

Anyone have any other ideas?

-Ryan
Make sure your mDNS service is running and try connecting to the RIO directly with ethernet or a USB A-B cable. If on ethernet, set a static IP for your computer. Make sure you can ping roborio-589-frc.local. Make sure you haven't overridden your robot address in build.xml (and make sure your team number in eclipse preferences > wpilib is correct). Then try deploying.
__________________
Creator of SmartDashboard.js, an extensible nodejs/webkit replacement for SmartDashboard


https://ligerbots.org

Last edited by euhlmann : 02-12-2017 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2017, 09:47 PM
RyStrider's Avatar
RyStrider RyStrider is offline
Registered User
FRC #0589 (CVHS Falkon Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: La Crescenta
Posts: 7
RyStrider is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

No luck. I tried adding a port exception into mcAfee, but no change. HELP

- Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-21-2017, 05:38 AM
rfolea's Avatar
rfolea rfolea is offline
Registered User
AKA: Rick Folea
no team (Forsyth Alliance)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: US
Posts: 231
rfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

Was this resolved? I saw another instance of it yesterday but couldn't figure out a way around it. Had to do all downloads via tether (yuck).
Reply With Quote
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-23-2017, 10:14 AM
vigneshv vigneshv is offline
Registered User
FRC #2489
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 60
vigneshv is on a distinguished road
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

I had this problem as well, is there anyone who's found a fix for this issue?

I think it might be tied to the new firmware update on the routers -- uploading code worked fine when connecting through a router running last year's firmware, while it gave me the connection error while connecting the same RoboRio to a router with updated firmware. I don't know if this helps diagnose the problem, but accessing the RoboRio through SSH does not work for me either, but I can access the web dashboard through roboRIO-2489-frc.local
__________________


Last edited by vigneshv : 02-23-2017 at 10:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-23-2017, 11:15 AM
rfolea's Avatar
rfolea rfolea is offline
Registered User
AKA: Rick Folea
no team (Forsyth Alliance)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: US
Posts: 231
rfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond reputerfolea has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Strange Error Regarding Connection with roboRIO

For the team I was working with, we switched to the new radio (they were using last years model) and now everything works fine.

Don't know if it was a bad radio or if it is a compatibility issue with the new firmware.

Are you using this year's radio?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi