Go to Post No, but you have access to the most powerful machine tool of all; a telephone. We had zero machining sponsors, now we've probably had over 30 unique shops run parts for us; All we did was ask. - AdamHeard [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Competition > Rules/Strategy
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.20 average. Display Modes
  #91   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2018, 07:12 PM
Slugmas Slugmas is offline
Registered User
FRC #5480
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Slugmas is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

The definition of climbing is:

"For each ROBOT fully supported by the SCALE (either directly or transitively) with BUMPERS fully above the BRICKS at T=0, not in direct contact with their PLATFORM, and not at all in the opponent’s PLATFORM ZONE"

Thus, it would not be counted as a climb if you lifted yourself up while maintaining direct contact with the platform.
Reply With Quote
  #92   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2018, 07:20 PM
engunneer's Avatar
engunneer engunneer is offline
Alumni turned Mentor
AKA: Branden Gunn
no team
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Medford, MA
Posts: 1,028
engunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond reputeengunneer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugmas View Post
The definition of climbing is:

"For each ROBOT fully supported by the SCALE (either directly or transitively) with BUMPERS fully above the BRICKS at T=0, not in direct contact with their PLATFORM, and not at all in the opponent’s PLATFORM ZONE"

Thus, it would not be counted as a climb if you lifted yourself up while maintaining direct contact with the platform.
As slugmas points out, this topic is pretty much resolved as of Team Update 1 which came out in the past few hours.

You can lift your alliance partner, you can lift yourself (using the rung), or both. You cannot lift yourself and still be touching the platform.
__________________
Student FRC23 (1996-1999), Mentor FRC246 (2000), Mentor FRC1318 (2007-2009), Mentor FRC93 (2011), Mentor FRC2151 (2012), Mentor FRC23 (2013), Mentor FRC4761 (2014-2017)
1998 - National Chairman's Award and Woodie Flowers Award (FRC23, Mike Bastoni ) | 2007 - PNW SF (488, 1595) | 2008 - Oregon RCA - Seattle #2 Seed, SF (488, 1696) | 2009 - Oregon #1 Seed, Winners (1983, 2635) - Seattle SF (945, 2865) - Galileo #2 Seed, SF (973, 25) | 2012 Midwest F (111, 71) | 2014 RIDE Winners (78, 125), Inspector - NEU #24, QF (3479, 3958) - NECMP #35 | 2015 Reading #11, SF (1058, 190), Inspector - RIDE #17, QF(4055, 5494), Inspector - NECMP #57 | 2016 Reading #4, SF (133, 4474), DCA, Inspector - Ride #22, SF (1735, 2067), Creativity, Inspector - NECMP #48, RCA - Archimedes | 2017 SE Mass #7, QF, Inspector - Reading #4, Winners (1071, 5556), EI, Inspector - NECMP #TBD
Reply With Quote
  #93   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2018, 07:50 PM
paul.dornfeld paul.dornfeld is offline
Registered User
FRC #5523
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Grass Lake, MI
Posts: 160
paul.dornfeld has a spectacular aura aboutpaul.dornfeld has a spectacular aura aboutpaul.dornfeld has a spectacular aura about
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #94   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-12-2018, 03:18 PM
scoutagy23
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

Is it legal to use a ramp to make another robot climb. please help we're having a really hard time in that
Reply With Quote
  #95   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-12-2018, 03:28 PM
EricH's Avatar
EricH EricH is offline
New year, new team
FRC #1197 (Torbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 21,800
EricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutagy23 View Post
Is it legal to use a ramp to make another robot climb. please help we're having a really hard time in that
Perhaps Team Update #1 and the Q&A questions will help you figure that out. (Search for "ramp" on the Q&A, most of the answers point back to Q7.)




There is a short answer. But I am unwilling to do homework for someone else. I will point to references--official references I might add--and let them draw their own conclusions. (I will also add that this particular element was picked up on within 4 hours by a group at the Kickoff I attended, and we couldn't find anything to make it illegal--but the rules have changed since Kickoff, albeit slightly.)
__________________
Past teams:
2003-2007: FRC0330 BeachBots; 2008: FRC1135 Shmoebotics; 2012: FRC4046 Schroedinger's Dragons

"Rockets are tricky..."--Elon Musk



Reply With Quote
  #96   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-12-2018, 03:28 PM
Rainclaw's Avatar
Rainclaw Rainclaw is offline
Registered User
AKA: Emmet Ryan
FRC #1389 (The Body Electric)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 17
Rainclaw is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

Q7 on the Q&A appears to say yes, if you meet the requirements in Table 4-1.
Quote:
Originally posted by FRC Q&A

Question:
The rules as written (RAW) list the scale as including the platforms, which would imply that a robot could lift up other robots while remaining on the platform, causing the other robots to be transitively supported by the scale. Is this the case, or do robots need to be unsupported by the platforms to have climbed?

Answer:
Per Table 4-1's definition of CLIMBING, a ROBOT must be "...fully supported by the SCALE (either directly or transitively) ... not in direct contact with their PLATFORM ..." It is possible for a ROBOT to still meet the requirement for CLIMBING, while transitively contacting a PLATFORM, assuming all requirements in Table 4-1 definition are met.
Reply With Quote
  #97   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-13-2018, 10:07 AM
????????????'s Avatar
???????????? ???????????? is offline
Registered User
AKA: Aaron Matthews
FRC #1080 (Resurgence Robotics)
Team Role: CAD
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Rookie Year: 2017
Location: Virginia
Posts: 68
???????????? will become famous soon enough???????????? will become famous soon enough
Re: Possible Climb Loophole?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsmo View Post
I believe rule R24 (stating that bumpers can only be 7in off the floor) might rule this strategy illegal

Love the idea though
^ Same!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi