OCCRA
Go to Post "Heres a band aid to keep your blood off the robot." - littleelectron [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 03:05 PM
Smosher104 Smosher104 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0011
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Flanders
Posts: 15
Smosher104 is on a distinguished road
Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

As stated above, can we use any encoder that is plugged into a TalonSRX via a data cable and use the TalonSRX firmware for our PID control. We have only used the mag encoders using this method before, but I noticed the CTRE library has separate methods to set the feedback device generically to a quadrature or pulse width feedback. To reiterate, is any quadrature or analog encoder compatible with the TalonSRX firmware?
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 03:07 PM
Chadfrom308's Avatar
Chadfrom308 Chadfrom308 is offline
Slave to the bot
AKA: Chad Krause
FRC #7226 (Error 404)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: East Lansing
Posts: 327
Chadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to behold
Re: Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

Most encoders (practically all of them unless they're special) will work. I recommend getting this:

http://www.ctr-electronics.com/adapt...out-board.html
__________________
//TODO: make signature
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 03:26 PM
Smosher104 Smosher104 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0011
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Flanders
Posts: 15
Smosher104 is on a distinguished road
Re: Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chadfrom308 View Post
Most encoders (practically all of them unless they're special) will work. I recommend getting this:

http://www.ctr-electronics.com/adapt...out-board.html
Thanks. We were looking at that breakout board before too. Does it let us wire a limit switch and encoder at the same time to one talon?
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 03:31 PM
Mark Wasserman's Avatar
Mark Wasserman Mark Wasserman is offline
Registered User
FRC #2767 (Stryke Force)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2017
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: kalamazoo
Posts: 159
Mark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud of
Re: Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smosher104 View Post
Thanks. We were looking at that breakout board before too. Does it let us wire a limit switch and encoder at the same time to one talon?
Andymark am-3495.
__________________
Not fast swerve, good swerve driven quickly.
Slow is Smooth, Smooth is Fast
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 03:31 PM
Chadfrom308's Avatar
Chadfrom308 Chadfrom308 is offline
Slave to the bot
AKA: Chad Krause
FRC #7226 (Error 404)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: East Lansing
Posts: 327
Chadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to beholdChadfrom308 is a splendid one to behold
Re: Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smosher104 View Post
Thanks. We were looking at that breakout board before too. Does it let us wire a limit switch and encoder at the same time to one talon?
Yes, on the top of the board there is an encoder breakout, on the back there is forward and reverse limit inputs
__________________
//TODO: make signature
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 03:49 PM
GeeTwo's Avatar
GeeTwo GeeTwo is offline
Mentor
AKA: Gus Michel II
FRC #3946 (Tiger Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,801
GeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

Both the CTRE and AndyMark breakouts will allow limit switches as well as the encoder. The AM breakout will actually allow you to use all four for sensory input. Though it will only run control on one of the encoder or analog at a time, either of these can be run with or without limit switches enabled.

Because of solder vs Dupont 0.1" pins, the AM are easier to get working and experiment with, but the CTRE is smaller and more robust under shock conditions. If you aren't using the analog input, they're functionally interchangeable.
__________________

If you can't find time to do it right, how are you going to find time to do it over?
If you don't pass it on, it never happened.
Robots are great, but inspiration is the reason we're here.
Friends don't let friends use master links.
[Quoting brennonbrimhall]: We design a new robot every year, but we can't forget that we also design a new team every year as folks come and go.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 08-13-2018, 04:30 PM
Mark Wasserman's Avatar
Mark Wasserman Mark Wasserman is offline
Registered User
FRC #2767 (Stryke Force)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2017
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: kalamazoo
Posts: 159
Mark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud ofMark Wasserman has much to be proud of
Re: Will the TalonSRX firmware work with any encoder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeTwo View Post
Because of solder vs Dupont 0.1" pins, the AM are easier to get working and experiment with, but the CTRE is smaller and more robust under shock conditions. If you aren't using the analog input, they're functionally interchangeable.
We use a WAGO 233-510 mated with the AM-3495 for experiment and prototypes on our SoB (System on Board, pronounced like "Bob but with an S). The AM-3495 was designed specifically for this connector but any .100" connector will fit. The AM-3495 also has wire strain reliefs built in.

http://www.newark.com/wago/233-510/t...ion/dp/79K2054
__________________
Not fast swerve, good swerve driven quickly.
Slow is Smooth, Smooth is Fast
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi