Go to Post Ahh! I see that you discovered the "CMD_FLING_RECEIVER_RADIO_ACROSS_ROOM" command in the robot scripting language! Nicely done! - dlavery [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 05:23 PM
noah.gleason's Avatar
noah.gleason noah.gleason is offline
Registered User
FRC #0449 (The Blair Robot Project)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 36
noah.gleason is a jewel in the roughnoah.gleason is a jewel in the roughnoah.gleason is a jewel in the rough
You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

The NI Web Interface (a.k.a. the place where you access and change CAN port numbers) runs using NPAPI/Silverlight, which is deprecated. As per NI's website,
Quote:
Google Chrome version 42 and later as well as Microsoft Edge are not supported browsers for National Instruments web technologies. National Instruments highly recommends that customers use supported browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari).
However, Firefox has stopped supporting plugins as well, so you now have to use either Internet Explorer or Safari to access the config. Hope NI figures out a replacement before 2021!
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 05:25 PM
Poseidon5817's Avatar
Poseidon5817 Poseidon5817 is online now
Founder and CEO, DeadMemes Studios
AKA: Mitchel Stokes
FRC #5817 (Uni-Rex)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 601
Poseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant futurePoseidon5817 has a brilliant future
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by noah.gleason View Post
The NI Web Interface (a.k.a. the place where you access and change CAN port numbers) runs using NPAPI/Silverlight, which is deprecated. As per NI's website,

However, Firefox has stopped supporting plugins as well, so you now have to use either Internet Explorer or Safari to access the config. Hope NI figures out a replacement before 2021!
Yeah I found that out the hard way at practice the other day. Firefox updated when I got to the shop then nothing worked.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 05:30 PM
EmileH's Avatar
EmileH EmileH is offline
is it the offseason yet?
AKA: Emile Hamwey
FRC #1058 (The PVC Pirates) & FRC #7319 (F(Height) Club Robotics)
Team Role: Student
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 631
EmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond reputeEmileH has a reputation beyond repute
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

I have noticed that certain Windows 10 computers in our shop do not have Internet Explorer installed at all. Hoping NI rewrites the myRIO dashboard in html5 soon...
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 05:58 PM
Philip Arola's Avatar
Philip Arola Philip Arola is offline
You can check out any time you like
AKA: KG7VAM
FRC #2898 (The Flying Hedgehogs), FRC #1510 (Wildcats)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Posts: 110
Philip Arola is a splendid one to beholdPhilip Arola is a splendid one to beholdPhilip Arola is a splendid one to beholdPhilip Arola is a splendid one to beholdPhilip Arola is a splendid one to beholdPhilip Arola is a splendid one to beholdPhilip Arola is a splendid one to behold
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmileH View Post
I have noticed that certain Windows 10 computers in our shop do not have Internet Explorer installed at all. Hoping NI rewrites the myRIO dashboard in html5 soon...
It's fairly easy to fix that if you have admin privileges. Go to "Turn Windows Features Off and On" in the control panel, and search for it in the list.
__________________
Cunningham's Law: The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 07:58 PM
Purp1eGh0st Purp1eGh0st is offline
Registered User
FRC #1072
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: California
Posts: 1
Purp1eGh0st is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

If you specifically download an outdated version of firefox you can get it to work but it's painful.
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 08:00 PM
frcguy's Avatar
frcguy frcguy is offline
Planning events is hard
AKA: Nicholas Dal Porto
FRC #5940 (B.R.E.A.D.)
Team Role: Tactician
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Belmont, CA
Posts: 1,211
frcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond reputefrcguy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

NI needs to stop this madness and make an interface that isn't based on a rapidly dying plugin.
__________________



2017: Team 5940 (San Francisco Regional Quarterfinalist, Silicon Valley Regional)
2016: Team 5940 (Silicon Valley Regional Rookie All-Star and Quarterfinalist, Curie Quarterfinalist)

Volunteer: 2016 (Chezy Champs Field Reset, Capital City Classic FTA, MadTown ThrowDown FTA)
Volunteer: 2017 (Chezy Champs, Capital City Classic FTA, MadTown ThrowDown)
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 09:40 PM
rrossbach rrossbach is offline
Registered User
AKA: Ron R
FRC #2607 (RoboVikings)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Warrington PA
Posts: 94
rrossbach is a splendid one to beholdrrossbach is a splendid one to beholdrrossbach is a splendid one to beholdrrossbach is a splendid one to beholdrrossbach is a splendid one to beholdrrossbach is a splendid one to beholdrrossbach is a splendid one to behold
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

As another interim work-around, you can download and install NI's roboRIO Toolkit (available at http://www.ni.com/download/labview-r...-2016/6215/en/).

The toolkit installation includes NI MAX, and you can use NI MAX to perform the same configuration functions you would have done via the web dashboard, including managing CAN devices, etc.

Hope that helps!

- Ron
__________________

FIRST Mid-Atlantic Volunteer (CSA, FTA)
FRC Team #2607 Controls Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-20-2017, 09:44 PM
jaredhk's Avatar
jaredhk jaredhk is online now
Tried turning it off and on again?
AKA: Jared Hasen-Klein
FRC #1836 (The MilkenKnights)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 211
jaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud ofjaredhk has much to be proud of
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmileH View Post
I have noticed that certain Windows 10 computers in our shop do not have Internet Explorer installed at all. Hoping NI rewrites the myRIO dashboard in html5 soon...
Even if you exclusively "have" Microsoft Edge, you should still have internet explorer hidden somewhere. Try win + R and type iexplore.exe.
__________________
Jared Hasen-Klein, Director of Team Operations

MilkenKnights.com | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Snapchat


FREE RESOURCES
FLL Trash Trek / Animal Allies / Hydrodynamics (Coming Aug 2017) | FRC Stronghold / Steamworks | FTC Velocity Vortex | VRC Starstruck
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 03-21-2017, 10:35 AM
crake crake is offline
National Instruments
AKA: Chris Rake
no team (Athena)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 188
crake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond reputecrake has a reputation beyond repute
Re: You now have to use Internet Explorer to access NI Web Config

Quote:
Originally Posted by frcguy View Post
NI needs to stop this madness and make an interface that isn't based on a rapidly dying plugin.
I hear ya!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi