OCCRA
Go to Post We have put our [robot] on a treadmill. It should shed those excessive pounds and be in shape to compete.:) - Seth Mallory [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-31-2017, 07:57 PM
Beans Beans is offline
Registered User
FRC #4461
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 4
Beans is an unknown quantity at this point
(How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

Hey! Robot programmers!

Got a "Bridge firmware loaded failed: Timeout waiting for radio. Make sure sure you have launched the .exe not the .jar. Try using a switch. Please reset the bridge and try again." Error?

Well we found a fix!

1. Open the Radio Config Utility folder. Should be in C:\Program Files (x86)\FRC Radio Configuration Utility

2. Launch "FRC Radio Configuration Utility.exe"

3. Select ethernet as network interface (Make sure your wi-fi card is disabled)

4. Input team number
Radio: OpenMesh
Mode: 2.4GHz AP
(Everything else change to your likings)

*IMPORTANT* MAKE SURE YOUR ROUTER DOES NOT HAVE POWER BUT, ETHERNET CABLE IS CONNECTED TO THE COMPUTER (PLUG IN 802.3af POE)

Our team struggled here because we had the power plugged in.

5. At this point, you should only have the ethernet cable plugged in to the router. All lights should be off.

6. Click "LOAD FIRMWARE"

7. After it gives you this prompt:
"Preparing to load firmware
1) Plug the radio Ethernet ubti the PC,
2) Apply (or cycle) power to the radio.
3) If the power LED blinks, power cycle again."

Plug in the power to the router

8. Wait for it to be done flashing and press ok.

It should work. If it doesn't comment below your error. And we'll try to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-31-2017, 08:03 PM
Beans Beans is offline
Registered User
FRC #4461
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 4
Beans is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

At step 7 its Plug the radio Ethernet into* the PC,
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-01-2017, 04:33 PM
Benson3292 Benson3292 is offline
Registered User
FRC #3292
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Benson
Posts: 9
Benson3292 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

We have the same issue and we still got that time our error. Any thoughts what to try next?
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-01-2017, 05:13 PM
Beans Beans is offline
Registered User
FRC #4461
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 4
Beans is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benson3292 View Post
We have the same issue and we still got that time our error. Any thoughts what to try next?
Hi, if you followed all the steps and still got the error, I would like to verify a few things:

1. Are you guys using the AC version of the router? (OM5P-AC)

2. Are you using the ethernet cable that came with the package?

3. Is your wifi adapter disabled?
Go to Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > On the left side select "Change Adapter Settings" > Right-click your wifi adapter and disable it.
(It's because if the wifi adapter is on, it may interfere with the ethernet settings)

And the possible things that you could try are:

1. Only set the team number, Radio: OpenMesh, Mode: 2.4GHz AP and leave everything else to default.
2. Try to launch the "FRC Radio Configuration Utility.jar"
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-02-2017, 03:47 PM
Benson3292 Benson3292 is offline
Registered User
FRC #3292
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Benson
Posts: 9
Benson3292 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

What we end up getting is it will say radio found flashing firmware. Then after a few minutes we end up getting te following message. Bridge firmware load failed: timeout flashing radio. Make sure you not to unplug the radio until the operations comempletes. Please reset the bridge and try again.
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-02-2017, 07:09 PM
Beans Beans is offline
Registered User
FRC #4461
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Des Moines
Posts: 4
Beans is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

So what we think that you should try, is to use a switch. Basically, it lets the connection last longer during the firmware flash
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-03-2017, 06:08 AM
npetrie3 npetrie3 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0135 (Penn Robotics)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 24
npetrie3 is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beans View Post
So what we think that you should try, is to use a switch. Basically, it lets the connection last longer during the firmware flash


Yes this needs to be added to this post it is what ended up working for our team.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 10-12-2017, 06:25 AM
Ahmed #9014 Ahmed #9014 is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Turkey
Posts: 2
Ahmed #9014 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

Hi we use AC version. What can we do for this error? Please help we can not solve this!
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 10-12-2017, 01:49 PM
Ahmed #9014 Ahmed #9014 is offline
Registered User
no team
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Turkey
Posts: 2
Ahmed #9014 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: (How to fix) Timeout waiting for radio (FRC Radio Config Utility)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beans View Post
Hi, if you followed all the steps and still got the error, I would like to verify a few things:

1. Are you guys using the AC version of the router? (OM5P-AC)

2. Are you using the ethernet cable that came with the package?

3. Is your wifi adapter disabled?
Go to Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > On the left side select "Change Adapter Settings" > Right-click your wifi adapter and disable it.
(It's because if the wifi adapter is on, it may interfere with the ethernet settings)

And the possible things that you could try are:

1. Only set the team number, Radio: OpenMesh, Mode: 2.4GHz AP and leave everything else to default.
2. Try to launch the "FRC Radio Configuration Utility.jar"
Hi we use AC version. What can we do for this error? Please help we can not solve this!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi