OCCRA
Go to Post when I was a ball setter at PARC one year (6th grade?). As soon as I saw what High school students could do with thier own two hands and how they mingled with industry, I knew, at that moment, it was for me. - henryBsick [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-05-2018, 05:43 AM
Zagar's Avatar
Zagar Zagar is offline
1506 Metal Muscle Electrical Team
AKA: Greg
FRC #1506 (Metal Muscle)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Manchester, Michigan
Posts: 80
Zagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to all
Robot Signal Light

Hi all,

I have a question regarding the RSL. Is it allowable to have an intermediate connection point on the wiring to the RSL? Meaning, can I have something that plugs into the RIO and has a set of screw terminals for connection rather than splicing a 24AWG 2 pin connector to 20AWG to run out to the light?

Thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-05-2018, 06:00 AM
marshall's Avatar
marshall marshall is offline
Online Stripe & Drape Sales
FRC #0900 (The Zebracorns)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,892
marshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond reputemarshall has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagar View Post
Hi all,

I have a question regarding the RSL. Is it allowable to have an intermediate connection point on the wiring to the RSL? Meaning, can I have something that plugs into the RIO and has a set of screw terminals for connection rather than splicing a 24AWG 2 pin connector to 20AWG to run out to the light?

Thanks
I don’t see why not provided it is a connector only and does not interfere with the electrical signal being sent to the light.

That being said, I believe the port on the RoboRIO is sized for a 3pin .1” PWM connector (though only two of the pins are broken out) and you get a bunch in the kit every year so it makes it a bit easier.
__________________
"La mejor salsa del mundo es la hambre" - Miguel de Cervantes
"The future is unwritten" - Joe Strummer
"Simplify, then add lightness" - Colin Chapman
Clarke's Laws
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-05-2018, 06:49 AM
AriMB's Avatar
AriMB AriMB is offline
The Philadelphian emigrant
AKA: Ari Meles-Braverman
FRC #5987 (Galaxia)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 1,657
AriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

The manual says:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2018 R71
Any RSL must be:
...
B. connected to the “RSL” supply terminals on the roboRIO,
...
It doesn't say "directly connected" or specify how it should be connected, simply "connected". I would interpret that to mean connectors are allowed between the roboRIO and RSL. As always, the final decision is up to your LRI, and rules are subject to change next season.
__________________
Studying MechE at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
2017-present: FIRST Israel CSA/FTAA
2017-present: FRC 5987 Technical Mentor 18isr2 18isr4 18isrcmp 18carv
2012-2016: FRC 423 Member 15njtab 15padre 16paphi
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-05-2018, 06:50 AM
cpapplefamily's Avatar
cpapplefamily cpapplefamily is online now
Registered User
FRC #3244 (Granite City Gearheads)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 731
cpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to behold
Re: Robot Signal Light

I can count 3 connections between our RSL's and Roborio last year.
__________________
It makes sense in my mind.



Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-05-2018, 08:27 AM
FrankJ's Avatar
FrankJ FrankJ is offline
Robot Mentor
AKA: The Bearded ONe
FRC #2974 (WALT)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Marietta GA
Posts: 2,477
FrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond reputeFrankJ has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

As an RI, I only look to see if your signal light is working. The inspection check list only requires that it be connected to the RSL signal port and work. The field people can disable you if the light stops working.
__________________
If you don't know what you should hook up then you should read a data sheet
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-05-2018, 08:55 AM
GeeTwo's Avatar
GeeTwo GeeTwo is offline
Mentor
AKA: Gus Michel II
FRC #3946 (Tiger Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 5,817
GeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

We did something similar to this for 2016 STRONGHOLD because we needed to have two RSLs for full visibility.
__________________

If you can't find time to do it right, how are you going to find time to do it over?
If you don't pass it on, it never happened.
Robots are great, but inspiration is the reason we're here.
Friends don't let friends use master links.
[Quoting brennonbrimhall]: We design a new robot every year, but we can't forget that we also design a new team every year as folks come and go.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-06-2018, 05:05 AM
Zagar's Avatar
Zagar Zagar is offline
1506 Metal Muscle Electrical Team
AKA: Greg
FRC #1506 (Metal Muscle)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Manchester, Michigan
Posts: 80
Zagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to all
Re: Robot Signal Light

Thank you all for the replies.

This is as I thought. I didn't think it was an issue, but it was brought up in a discussion, and I wanted to get more opinions. As I read the rules myself, I see no variant of the interpretation as it stands. As long as the light works properly, consistently, securely and follows R71, it's up to you how to wire it.

Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-06-2018, 10:22 PM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Al Skierkiewicz Al Skierkiewicz is offline
Chief Robot Inspector
AKA: Big Al WFFA 2005
FRC #0111 (WildStang)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 11,115
Al Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

Greg,
A few things to consider...
1. All electrical connections need to be insulated. That is a little more difficult with screw terminals.
2. A single run of wire has less chance for failure than multiple breaks/connections in the wire. Your mileage may vary.
__________________
Good Luck All. Learn something new, everyday!
Al
WB9UVJ
www.wildstang.org
________________________
Knowledge is power. Power UP!
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-07-2018, 05:34 AM
Zagar's Avatar
Zagar Zagar is offline
1506 Metal Muscle Electrical Team
AKA: Greg
FRC #1506 (Metal Muscle)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Manchester, Michigan
Posts: 80
Zagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to all
Re: Robot Signal Light

Yeah, the screw terminals are insulated and take 26-20AWG, so definitely covered there, and with the screw terminals, I actually feel more confident with what I'm developing than the simple push on connector. Think of the power connector on the RIO, but not the terrible NI version.

Thanks Al,

Greg
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-09-2018, 11:33 AM
Unsung FIRST Hero
Al Skierkiewicz Al Skierkiewicz is offline
Chief Robot Inspector
AKA: Big Al WFFA 2005
FRC #0111 (WildStang)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1996
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 11,115
Al Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond reputeAl Skierkiewicz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

Greg,
The connector on the RoboRio is not an NI product. It however, approved for low voltage apps and the screw heads are recessed to provide some insulation. If your terminals are similar then that should be fine. However, these terminals are listed for specific wire size ranges. Often 14-18 gauge. Smaller wire will tend to pull out. You might try stripping the wire longer than normal, fold the excess back over itself to double or triple the diameter. This method in effect increases the wire size at the terminal and may give you amore reliable connection.
__________________
Good Luck All. Learn something new, everyday!
Al
WB9UVJ
www.wildstang.org
________________________
Knowledge is power. Power UP!
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-10-2018, 06:50 AM
Zagar's Avatar
Zagar Zagar is offline
1506 Metal Muscle Electrical Team
AKA: Greg
FRC #1506 (Metal Muscle)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Manchester, Michigan
Posts: 80
Zagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to all
Re: Robot Signal Light

Yeah, I know. The power connector is a Phoenix product, which over my career, I've found to be a necessary evil in the controls world. I much prefer other manufacturer's equipment, but that's me.

And the block I was looking at is a Phoenix, and it's wire range is perfect for this application. Running 20AWG for the RSL is more than will ever be required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-10-2018, 10:07 AM
philso philso is online now
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,642
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Signal Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Skierkiewicz View Post
Greg,
The connector on the RoboRio is not an NI product. It however, approved for low voltage apps and the screw heads are recessed to provide some insulation. If your terminals are similar then that should be fine. However, these terminals are listed for specific wire size ranges. Often 14-18 gauge. Smaller wire will tend to pull out. You might try stripping the wire longer than normal, fold the excess back over itself to double or triple the diameter. This method in effect increases the wire size at the terminal and may give you amore reliable connection.
Crimping a ferrule over the folded wire will ensure that it doesn't get squished and become "small" and slip out after the screw on the connector is tightened.
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-17-2018, 11:43 AM
David Ellers's Avatar
David Ellers David Ellers is offline
Registered User
FRC #2451 (PWNAGE)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: St. Charles, Illinois
Posts: 22
David Ellers is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Robot Signal Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagar View Post
Yeah, I know. The power connector is a Phoenix product, which over my career, I've found to be a necessary evil in the controls world. I much prefer other manufacturer's equipment, but that's me.

And the block I was looking at is a Phoenix, and it's wire range is perfect for this application. Running 20AWG for the RSL is more than will ever be required.
The Power Connector supplied on the rRio is not a Phoenix Contact product but rather a Sauro product. We replace the Power Connector with a Phoenix Contact Push-in Spring connector part number 1966091. We also ferrule the wire using a ferrule with a 12mm barrel length.

If you have found a plug connector for the RSI from Phoenix, I would be interested in the part number.
Reply With Quote
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread Yesterday, 06:12 AM
Zagar's Avatar
Zagar Zagar is offline
1506 Metal Muscle Electrical Team
AKA: Greg
FRC #1506 (Metal Muscle)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Manchester, Michigan
Posts: 80
Zagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to allZagar is a name known to all
Re: Robot Signal Light

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ellers View Post
The Power Connector supplied on the rRio is not a Phoenix Contact product but rather a Sauro product. We replace the Power Connector with a Phoenix Contact Push-in Spring connector part number 1966091. We also ferrule the wire using a ferrule with a 12mm barrel length.

If you have found a plug connector for the RSI from Phoenix, I would be interested in the part number.
I do, and the next time I'm at the Center, I'll get it for you. I bought 5 or 10 of them, and I'm glad I did.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi