Go to Post As much as you may want the ChiefDelphi community to see your argument, we may not want to see yours. - Amanda Morrison [more]
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Competition > Rules/Strategy
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-12-2018, 01:34 PM
Matt_Boehm_329 Matt_Boehm_329 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0329
Team Role: Tactician
Join Date: Jan 2013
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 135
Matt_Boehm_329 is a jewel in the roughMatt_Boehm_329 is a jewel in the roughMatt_Boehm_329 is a jewel in the rough
G20/G25 Scale Scoring Grey Area?

After some discussion with some other mentors and coworkers I think there may exist an issue in the game. I have some suspicions on how it could be called but without an official ruling it could be a massive grey area. The two game rules that most closely address this situation as is are G20 and G25. If you feel others could apply please add them.

The most basic question that shows this: How long can a robot take to place a Power Cube on the scale?

This seems innocent enough but there are exemptions to the rules that open an interesting situation.

Now for hypothetical:
Red alliance has control of the scale. Red Robot (R1) is in the act of placing a cube and thus is positioned holding the power cube over the lowered scale. R1 is careful in their placement and it takes some time. During this time, Blue Robot (B1) places a cube on their raised side of the scale. The scale moves downward slightly but now becomes stopped under the Power cube that R1 is placing. R1 is now effectively holding the scale in a scoring position for itself (though if they release the cube it may, or may not maintain their control of the scale).

Is this a violation of G25?
R1 is in the process of placing a cube and while it may be affecting the movement of the scale, it is NOT resulting in the changing of scoring state. It has also been placed in this position by the actions of the opposing alliance adding a cube to their side and shifting the scale. The blue box also specifically calls out “propping up the scale in a balanced orientation” or “holding a plate up” with robot shown under the scale.

Is this a violation of G20?:
This again exempts the placement of power cubes on plates, so the original question of “How long can a robot take to place a Power Cube on the scale?” again comes up.

If Power Cube placement time is unlimited then, once acquiring scale control could a robot on the controlling alliance take 2 minutes to place their next cube? If a time limit on Cube placement is added, could several robots not see the same effective results? R1 places for N seconds while R2 and R3 grab cubes, R2 starts placing while R1 finishes placing, and so on until R1 is back placing a cube.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi