OCCRA
Go to Post It's a good things we're engineers who regularly squeeze out 'miracles' with a severely limited budget, eh? I think that's an important aspect that we as mentors need to show the students from time to time, and this year is a perfect opportunity. - JesseK [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Sensors
CD-Media  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-10-2018, 02:54 PM
berkdayanir berkdayanir is offline
Registered User
FRC #7153
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1
berkdayanir is an unknown quantity at this point
Using srx mag encoder with wcp ss 3 cim gearbox.

Hi,

Does anyone know if itís possible to mount srx mag encoder on the output shaft of wcp ss 3 cim gearbox without modifying it with a metal lathe?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-14-2018, 10:38 PM
rlounds's Avatar
rlounds rlounds is offline
The guy with the red pants
AKA: Ryan Lounds
FRC #1310 (Runnymede Robotics)
Team Role: Mechanical
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
rlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud ofrlounds has much to be proud of
Re: Using srx mag encoder with wcp ss 3 cim gearbox.

Due to how the WCP SS gearbox is put together, likely not.

In theory if you were to replace the included shaft with a thunderhex shaft (or any other pre-drilled shaft) you could drill the hole wider on one end to support the magnet, and then use a high strength shaft collar of some sort in place of whatever fastener was originally on the back of the shaft.

I'm not sure about how successful that may be as I've never personally been hands on with a WCP SS, but I'm familiar with the product line, I wish you the best of luck.

If you happen to figure something out to use the SRX Mag Encoder with the gearbox, I'd be interested in seeing pictures of it.
__________________
Head of Design and Build Leader for FRC Team 1310, Runnymede Robotics
Team Admin & Mechanical for Ri3D Team Ontario
Ex-Head of Outreach & Driveteam for FRC Team 865, Warp7
2018 Ontario Dean's List Finalist
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-14-2018, 10:47 PM
cpapplefamily's Avatar
cpapplefamily cpapplefamily is offline
Registered User
FRC #3244 (Granite City Gearheads)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 767
cpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to beholdcpapplefamily is a splendid one to behold
Re: Using srx mag encoder with wcp ss 3 cim gearbox.

There is a kit to mount the encoder to the output of the gearbox between the second and third stage. You will need both the SRX kit and Ball shifter Kit.

If your goal is to get it on the wheel axle as of current the common choice is to place it on one of the driven axles. There are hope the CUI will have a through hole encoder out soon but it will likely be in March. To bad the robot will be bagged.
__________________
It makes sense in my mind.

Jumpstart Training Central MN



Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 11-15-2018, 01:57 PM
Chris Mounts's Avatar
Chris Mounts Chris Mounts is offline
Registered User
FRC #1188 (RoboRavens)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 52
Chris Mounts is just really niceChris Mounts is just really niceChris Mounts is just really niceChris Mounts is just really niceChris Mounts is just really nice
Re: Using srx mag encoder with wcp ss 3 cim gearbox.

Assuming you are asking about this: http://www.wcproducts.net/wcp-ss-gearbox your best option is likely to put the encoder on another driven axle. I assume that was the intent when these were designed. There is no easy way to get an encoder on any of the older WCP gearboxes.

One tip is that you can use a small piece of surgical tubing between a axle shaft and an encoder. This allows you some slop in the offset of centers of the two parts while still getting you pretty good encoder readings.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi