OCCRA
Go to Post Use the mentor to lay down the law. They're not there to be your friends they're there to keep the kids focused on the job at hand. - Koko Ed [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical > CAN
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2016, 05:04 PM
CPotvin CPotvin is offline
Registered User
FRC #2637
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes
Posts: 1
CPotvin is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation CAN Talons Randomly Stop Working?

Yesterday, and today we have been attempting to troubleshoot a problem with the CAN Talon SRXs. Basically, what is happening is we are able to enable and drive our robot for somewhat random periods of time before the Talons stop working. When the talons stop working they show that they are receiving a neutral signal, and we have no control over them, although we can still control our intake system which is using PWM Sparks. Also, last night when we were troubleshooting the robot would have 3 motor controllers go neutral, while one would go forward til the motor it controlled overheated, and turned off, so we switched that Talon and now they all go neutral. The timing seems to be consistent in the form of they malfunction at intervals of a minute (ie. 1 minute, 5 minutes, 6 minutes).

If anyone can let us know how to fix this, and whether it is a programming or electronics problem that would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2016, 07:50 PM
BENL's Avatar
BENL BENL is offline
Founder/Driver #TSIMFD
AKA: Benjamin Louttit
FRC #7307 (JetStream)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: California
Posts: 57
BENL is on a distinguished road
Cool Re: CAN Talons Randomly Stop Working?

Yeah that happened to my team too. I just told electronics and programming to fix it.
__________________
2015 - Programming, Driver
2016 - Electronics, Driver
2017 - Electronics, Driver
2018 - Founder, Driver

Winner Las Vegas Regional

2018-??? - FRC 7307 JetStream
2015-2017 - FRC 2637 Phantom Catz
2010-2014 - FLL 270 Tech Turtles
2009 - FLL 179 OuTeRRoBoTiCs
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2016, 09:10 PM
rich2202 rich2202 is offline
Registered User
FRC #2202 (BEAST Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,482
rich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond reputerich2202 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: CAN Talons Randomly Stop Working?

How is the wiring on the CAN bus? Is it serial from the RoboRio to the PDP, with the PDP termination set? In other words, no Star formation and proper termination?

Did you check the firmware version of all your CAN devices?

Find the first motor controller in the series (from the RoboRio) that is causing you problems. Temporarily rewire so that one is farther along the chain. Does that make any difference? If so, you might have a bad controller or flaky wire.

> and whether it is a programming or electronics problem

Q: How many Programmers does it take to change a light bulb?
A: None. It is a hardware problem.
Q: How many Mechanical people does it take to change a light bulb?
A: None. They think it is a software problem.

I am guessing this one is a hardware problem. Software tends to fail in predicable ways. It either works, or it doesn't. Flaky hardware is more likely the cause of random problems.

Try this test:

1) Put the robot on blocks (so it doesn't move)
2) Write some code to feed the drive motors at 50% for the entire teleop period.
3) Wait 2 minutes.

Repeat 3 times the run/wait cycle 3 times.

Do the motors quit? If so, it is a hardware problem.

Last edited by rich2202 : 02-13-2016 at 09:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2016, 11:42 AM
HolyHacker335 HolyHacker335 is offline
Registered User
FRC #4945 (Titanium Wrecks)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Snow Hill, MD
Posts: 16
HolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud ofHolyHacker335 has much to be proud of
Re: CAN Talons Randomly Stop Working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPotvin View Post
If anyone can let us know how to fix this, and whether it is a programming or electronics problem that would be greatly appreciated.
Wow. This is concerning as we want to use SRX's on CAN this year. Did you give all your controllers UNIQUE ID's? Sorry if that is a dumb question, but the docs indicated that the roboRIO could deal with multiple controllers without them. But I would NEVER do that myself. Jus sayin.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2016, 11:46 AM
MaGiC_PiKaChU's Avatar
MaGiC_PiKaChU MaGiC_PiKaChU is offline
Drive Coach
AKA: Antoine L.
FRC #3360 (Hyperion)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Sherbrooke
Posts: 629
MaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond reputeMaGiC_PiKaChU has a reputation beyond repute
Re: CAN Talons Randomly Stop Working?

Had the same issue.

Update the firmware, we're running on 2.0.
Make sure they all have different IDs on the web page of your Rio.

We got 13 CAN Talons on our robot and everything works perfectly now.
__________________
2012 - 3360 - Junior member
2013-2014 - 3360 - Lead Programmer, Human player
2015 - 3360 - Lead Programmer, Driver
2016-2017 - 3360 - Mentor, Drive coach



Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi