OCCRA
Go to Post As a wise man from PA once said to me "Changing the culture is hard work." - RoboMom [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Control System
CD-Media  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2016, 09:53 PM
Juxttech Juxttech is offline
Registered User
FRC #4918
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Port Townsend, Washington
Posts: 5
Juxttech is an unknown quantity at this point
Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Hello everyone!

My team and I are having some problems with our driver station. We seem to be randomly getting disconnected from our robot, and we're not able to reconnect until we restart the robot. We've tried using two different RoboRIOs, and to connect, we've tried Ethernet, wireless, and USB, but the disconnects keep happening. Here's the log that the driver station gave us. In this situation we had communication with our robot, we deployed our new LabVIEW code, and the robot was enabled for about 30 seconds before we lost connection again.

Warning 44008 <radioLostEvents> 20.512 <radioSeenEvents> 19.011
FRC: Robot radio detection times.Warning 44003 FRC: No robot code is currently running. Driver Station
Warning 44004 FRC: The Driver Station has lost communication with the robot. Driver Station
Warning 44002 Ping Results: link-bad, DS radio(.4)-bad, robot radio(.1)-GOOD, cRIO(.2)-GOOD, FMS-bad FRC: Driver Station ping status has changed. Driver Station
Warning 44002 Ping Results: link-bad, DS radio(.4)-bad, robot radio(.1)-GOOD, cRIO(.2)-bad, FMS-bad FRC: Driver Station ping status has changed. Driver Station
Warning 44002 Ping Results: link-bad, DS radio(.4)-bad, robot radio(.1)-bad, cRIO(.2)-bad, FMS-bad FRC: Driver Station ping status has changed. Driver Station

I'd appreciate any insight anyone has on fixing this, as it's really had to make a robot when your computer keeps disconnecting.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-22-2016, 08:59 PM
Juxttech Juxttech is offline
Registered User
FRC #4918
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Port Townsend, Washington
Posts: 5
Juxttech is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Still having the problem a day later. Does anyone know what may be causing this? I've just tried reinstalling labview and the FRC update but it still doesn't seem to be working
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-22-2016, 10:19 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is online now
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2001
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,715
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

I have a couple of questions for you.

Are you running the unmodified default code to make sure it isn't the code?

Does the robot die while it is still Disabled?
Die when first Enabled?
Die when moving the joystick or pressing a button?

How are you downloading the code, e.g.,
- Build/Run as startup
or
- using the Run button on the window?
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristotle

Last edited by Mark McLeod : 01-22-2016 at 10:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-25-2016, 07:08 PM
ICE_Bear ICE_Bear is offline
Registered User
AKA: Kennedy
FRC #5875 (ICE)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 84
ICE_Bear is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Where do you get a connection code?
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-19-2018, 05:13 PM
BryceHanson's Avatar
BryceHanson BryceHanson is offline
Registered User
AKA: The sometimes-bearded guy
FRC #6814 (Ellipse)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Rookie Year: 2017
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 52
BryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant futureBryceHanson has a brilliant future
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Bumping this thread. We're having the exact same problem. Any solutions?
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 02:27 AM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
Volunteer WPILib Developer, CSA
no team (WPILib)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 536
Peter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

What language are you using? There is an issue in image v16 where large amounts of console output (as can commonly happen in C++ and Java programs) can result in loss of comm. NI is aware of the issue and will be releasing a v17 soon to fix this particular issue, but in the meantime you can reduce the amount of console output to work around the issue.
__________________
WPILib Developer, 2014-Present:
  • Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
  • Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC
Mentor, Team 294, 2008-2018 (World Champions FRC 2010 & FTC 2008)
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 05:31 AM
AriMB's Avatar
AriMB AriMB is offline
The Philadelphian emigrant
AKA: Ari Meles-Braverman
FRC #5987 (Galaxia)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 1,764
AriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Also check that all of your firewalls are turned off (Windows 10 comes with 3 different firewalls that you need to turn all of them off). This sounds like it could be a firewall thinking the robot is a hacker and kicking it off the network.

Also, when you lose connection can you ping the roboRIO? (try in command prompt "ping roborio-TEAM-frc.local" where TEAM is your team number.
__________________
Studying MechE at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
2017-present: FIRST Israel CSA/FTAA
2017-present: FRC 5987 Technical Mentor 18isr2 18isr4 18isrcmp 18carv
2012-2016: FRC 423 Member 15njtab 15padre 16paphi
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 03:42 PM
java4first java4first is offline
(Java) Programming Mentor
AKA: Stu
FRC #0501 (Power Knights)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
Posts: 71
java4first is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

See the next (previous) thread ... do you have the equivalent of println going to the console from within fast running loops. The software this year (and new RioLog) doesn't handle this - and you get exactly the behavior you describe. That may not be it (without seeing the code you are running) ... but it's not like last year. Of course, YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 04:21 PM
jabssr6937 jabssr6937 is offline
Registered User
FTC #12450
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: mission, texas
Posts: 2
jabssr6937 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

I am very new to FTC. What is console output and how do I reduce it?
Also, how do I take off the firewalls in windows 10?
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 04:24 PM
Boltman Boltman is offline
Strategy/Rules/Scouting/Volunteer
AKA: Tom Byrne
FRC #5137 (Iron Kodiaks)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,365
Boltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant futureBoltman has a brilliant future
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabssr6937 View Post
I am very new to FTC. What is console output and how do I reduce it?
Also, how do I take off the firewalls in windows 10?
Go to control panel type "firewall" and turn off all that you see
__________________


Iron Kodiaks Team #5137 San Marcos, CA
2018 Orange County Elimination Alliance (5477.5209) QF
2017 Ventura Captain 3 (8, 3882) QF
2016 Central Valley Captain 2 (973, 2135) SF
2015 Ventura Elimination Alliances (696, 1836) SF
2014 San Diego Rookie All-Star Galileo Division
San Diego (Home regional/practice days) : Not chosen '18 Elimination Alliances:'17 (399, 968) SF ,'16 (1159, 812) SF , '15 (3021, 1772) QF

Volunteer @ Orange County 2016, 2017, 2018 Ventura 2018
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 04:31 PM
jabssr6937 jabssr6937 is offline
Registered User
FTC #12450
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: mission, texas
Posts: 2
jabssr6937 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

My robot is also having similar problems as juxttech. Another problem is that after hitting the "init" button, the interface of the driver station phone remains frozen on the play button that is indicated by a triangle. This problem just started recently.

Here are some facts about our robot that may help to troubleshoot the problem:

1. we use modern robotics hardware.
2. There are many modules, our robot uses a total of 8 motors and 1 servo.
3. Usually a hard reset (turning the robot off and on by the power switch) solves the problem, but this is problematic in a match since it can not be done.
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 05:40 PM
java4first java4first is offline
(Java) Programming Mentor
AKA: Stu
FRC #0501 (Power Knights)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Rookie Year: 2011
Location: Goffstown, NH
Posts: 71
java4first is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabssr6937 View Post
I am very new to FTC. What is console output and how do I reduce it?
Not sure what programming language you are using, but in Java something like calls to "System.out.println" or "System.err.println". Basically anything that would send output to the console if you were running the program from a command line. I forget my C and C++ syntax ( cout << "some string" maybe for C++). Any of your programmers should be able to help you. Someone said NI was going to release an update soon to fix it? But it's probably not a good programming practice in general. Better to have some kind of logging facility that lets you control it and also write to a file on the RIO itself (using a USB memory stick, for example).

The way you can tell is to open the console from the driver station program (I think it's the little gear in the upper right hand corner) - which opens up a drop down and lets you do "Console". If you are getting stuff printed to this when your robot is enabled in any mode, it's a problem with quantity. I'm at home now - but the WPI screen steps have a section on how to work the driver station program.
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 05:56 PM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
Volunteer WPILib Developer, CSA
no team (WPILib)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 536
Peter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

There seems to be some confusion here on whether we are talking about FTC or FRC. In FRC, there’s an issue with excessive console output interacting with the Eclipse riolog that should be fixed in the next NI update image. For those talking about FTC, that does not apply.
__________________
WPILib Developer, 2014-Present:
  • Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
  • Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC
Mentor, Team 294, 2008-2018 (World Champions FRC 2010 & FTC 2008)
Reply With Quote
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-21-2018, 07:58 PM
seedar seedar is offline
Registered User
FRC #6996
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 10
seedar is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Randomly being disconnected from the Robot

We are having this problem too and some good suggestions here on what to check which I will follow up on.

One question I had was whether I can get more useful logs on the robot itself which may help identify the cause. I have looked at the logs in /var on the robot through ssh but seems there's nothing useful in those logs by default - was looking to see if there's any info on watchdog timeout or similar. Does this have to be specifically added to be logged ?

Our robot goes into disabled mode where it cant be recovered without a reboot though the web interface is still functional.

thanks !
Scott.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi