OCCRA
Go to Post Our robot name is currently "Subject to Change". - JesseK [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Pneumatics
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 04:08 PM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Pneumatic System Help

I am struggling to get our pneumatics to work. The PCM is slowly blinking red, the CAN lights on PDP are yellows, and the power light on Roborio is red. Iíve tried rewriting everything which didnít change. I also tried using WebDash but the PCM does not come up. Someone mind helping out?
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 04:41 PM
IndySam's Avatar
IndySam IndySam is offline
Registered User
FRC #0829 (Digital Goats)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Rookie Year: 2004
Location: Indy
Posts: 3,594
IndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond reputeIndySam has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Slow red usually means a compressor or solenoid fault. Download the manual, it's all in there.

http://www.ctr-electronics.com/downloads/pdf/PCM%20User's%20Guide.pdf
__________________
"Champions are champions not because they do anything extraordinary but because they do the ordinary things better than anyone else." óChuck Knoll


Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 04:46 PM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndySam View Post
Slow red usually means a compressor or solenoid fault. Download the manual, it's all in there.

http://www.ctr-electronics.com/downloads/pdf/PCM%20User's%20Guide.pdf
I went through all that but still nothing changed.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 04:54 PM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
I went through all that but still nothing changed.
I suspect something is wrong with the CAN because the PCM did not appear on the roboRIO Web-based configuration page but not sure how to fix that issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 05:02 PM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,644
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Sounds like the CAN is not working properly.
If you haven't already, try it with just the PCM CAN terminals hooked to the RIO CAN terminals - double check that green connects to green, and yellow to yellow.


The red Power light on the RIO means you have a short on one of the RIO output ports, but it isn't CAN related.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristotle
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 05:03 PM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McLeod View Post
Sounds like the CAN is not working properly.
If you haven't already, try it with just the PCM CAN terminals hooked to the RIO CAN terminals - double check that green connects to green, and yellow to yellow.
The only CAN system we have is with the PCM connected to roboRIO and PDP.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 05:18 PM
philso philso is offline
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,638
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McLeod View Post
Sounds like the CAN is not working properly.
If you haven't already, try it with just the PCM CAN terminals hooked to the RIO CAN terminals - double check that green connects to green, and yellow to yellow.


The red Power light on the RIO means you have a short on one of the RIO output ports, but it isn't CAN related.
You will probably want to add a 120 Ohm termination resistor across the yellow and green wires at the PCM to take the place of the one that is normally in the PDP.


Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
The only CAN system we have is with the PCM connected to roboRIO and PDP.
Can you communicate with the PDP.

Last edited by philso : 09-14-2018 at 05:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 05:24 PM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by philso View Post



Can you communicate with the PDP.
Communicate how?
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 05:35 PM
philso philso is offline
Mentor
no team
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,638
philso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond reputephilso has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by risho900 View Post
Communicate how?
Can you read back any current values for one of the channels. The value can be zero i.e. nothing is plugged into that channel. If you cannot communicate with the PDP and the PCM, it may be the CAN interface in your RoboRio is bad. You can then try swapping in a different RoboRio.

If you do find that you have a bad CAN interface in the PDP or PCM, get in touch with CTRE. They may be able to repair it for a reasonable price.
Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-14-2018, 09:33 PM
Tom Line's Avatar
Tom Line Tom Line is offline
Don't lay blame. Fix probems.
FRC #1718 (The Fighting Pi)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 1999
Location: Armada, Michigan
Posts: 3,129
Tom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond reputeTom Line has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Is your PCM at the end of the can chain or is it in between the Rio and PDP?
If it's at the end of the chain it MUST have a resistor in it to terminate the chain.
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 06:11 AM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Line View Post
Is your PCM at the end of the can chain or is it in between the Rio and PDP?
If it's at the end of the chain it MUST have a resistor in it to terminate the chain.
No it is in between both,
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 06:12 AM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by philso View Post
Can you read back any current values for one of the channels. The value can be zero i.e. nothing is plugged into that channel. If you cannot communicate with the PDP and the PCM, it may be the CAN interface in your RoboRio is bad. You can then try swapping in a different RoboRio.

If you do find that you have a bad CAN interface in the PDP or PCM, get in touch with CTRE. They may be able to repair it for a reasonable price.
What do I use to read the PDP current values?
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 07:47 AM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,644
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

You can check it through the Driver Station Log Viewer.
http://wpilib.screenstepslive.com/s/...og-file-viewer


Do you see the PDP listed on the roboRIO Web-based configuration page?
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristotle

Last edited by Mark McLeod : 09-15-2018 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 07:52 AM
risho900 risho900 is offline
Registered User
FRC #6897 (Astraea Robotics)
 
Join Date: May 2018
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: East Brunswick
Posts: 103
risho900 will become famous soon enough
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark McLeod View Post
You can check it throught the Driver Station Log Viewer.
http://wpilib.screenstepslive.com/s/...og-file-viewer


Do you see the PDP listed on the roboRIO Web-based configuration page?
No only then roboRIO comes up.
Reply With Quote
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-15-2018, 07:58 AM
Mark McLeod's Avatar
Mark McLeod Mark McLeod is offline
Just Itinerant
AKA: Hey dad...Father...MARK
FRC #0358 (Robotic Eagles)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Hauppauge, Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,644
Mark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond reputeMark McLeod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pneumatic System Help

Then the whole CAN-bus is inoperable.

I'd still suggest testing a single component on the bus at a time with the roboRIO to isolate the issue.
Rewire each connection with new wire-redoing each of the connectors carefully, in case it's a wire whisker type short.

Just use a new set of wires temporarily:

First, directly wire CAN from the roboRIO to the PDP and just see if the PDP then shows up on the configuration page.

Second, just wire the PCM-no PDP (don't bother with a 120ohm terminator for this test), just direct connect it alone to the roboRIO and see if it shows up on the configuration page.
__________________
We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit. -Aristotle

Last edited by Mark McLeod : 09-15-2018 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi