OCCRA
Go to Post I am allergic to work... - Mike Schroeder [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-16-2018, 07:39 AM
csaylor csaylor is offline
Registered User
FRC #6451
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Whiteland Indiana
Posts: 3
csaylor is an unknown quantity at this point
Robot Randomly Disconnects

Our robot randomly disconnects itself when connected via ethernet or wifi. We have tried two radios and have also tried re imaging the radios but nothing seems to help. The errors given are
Warning 4408 <radioLostEvents> 174.585 <radioSeenEvents> 173.585
Warning 4404 FRC: The Driver Station has lost communication with the robot. Driver Station
Warning 44002 Ping Results: link-bad, DS radio(.4)-bad, robot radio(.1)-bad, cRIO(.2)-bad, FMS-bad FRC: Driver Station ping status has changes. Driver Station
We have also tried using another computer as the driver station and have the same errors.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-16-2018, 07:45 AM
AriMB's Avatar
AriMB AriMB is offline
The Philadelphian emigrant
AKA: Ari Meles-Braverman
FRC #5987 (Galaxia)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: Haifa, Israel
Posts: 1,656
AriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond reputeAriMB has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

A few questions to help diagnose the problem:

• How long does the disconnect last?
• While it's disconnected can you ping the roborio or connect to the webdash?
• What's the CPU and memory usage on the computer(s) when they disconnect? Are any other programs running on the computer at the time?
• Does this only happen when the robot is enabled, or also when disabled?
• Does it also happen when connecting via ethernet straight to the rio (bypassing the radio)? What about connecting to the rio via USB B?


P.S. - you posted this thread twice, you might want to delete the other copy
__________________
Studying MechE at the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
2017-present: FIRST Israel CSA/FTAA
2017-present: FRC 5987 Technical Mentor 18isr2 18isr4 18isrcmp 18carv
2012-2016: FRC 423 Member 15njtab 15padre 16paphi
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-16-2018, 12:46 PM
gerthworm's Avatar
gerthworm gerthworm is online now
Making the 1's and 0's
FRC #1736 (Robot Casserole)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 633
gerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

There was a point at which sending tons of print statements to the driver station was a cause of strange behavior, including disconnects. Looks like it was fixed in RIO image 2018V17. Are you on this version or later? And if not, do you have lines of code that print to the console frequently?
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-17-2018, 07:07 AM
Thequackmaster's Avatar
Thequackmaster Thequackmaster is offline
Registered User
FRC #0107 (Team R.O.B.O.T.I.C.S)
Team Role: Electrical
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Rookie Year: 2017
Location: Holland, Mi
Posts: 23
Thequackmaster is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

We were having this on are 2017 robot when we tried to get it running again and it was doing the same thing. What we assumed it was, was a short somewhere on the robot as and after we did some testing we assumed it was that. Was the robot connecting then just about a minute later disconnecting also was the robot fully powering off or just disconnecting?
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-17-2018, 10:52 AM
Kyle Heaton's Avatar
Kyle Heaton Kyle Heaton is offline
I like volunteering.
no team (Volunteer)
Team Role: College Student
 
Join Date: May 2014
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 46
Kyle Heaton will become famous soon enough
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

Have you been able to determine the situation where this is occuring? Just simple things like, "It only happens when we are driving, or when a system is running." can be super helpful for debugging.

Other questions I have, what language are you using? It most likely doesn't make a difference, but is useful for pinpointing some errors.
Similar to is your rio updated to the most recent version, have you tried formatting it and redeploying everything? This is a bit of work, so I wouldn't suggest it unless nothing else works.
Are there any other characteristics that appear when the robot disconnects, like a motor turns on or off right as the robot disconnects? A motor suddenly turning on may cause power issues if it is not properly connected.
__________________
2013- 2017: Student 45 (FRC)
2014-Present: Volunteer at all these places!



Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 09-17-2018, 01:20 PM
Maxcr1's Avatar
Maxcr1 Maxcr1 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Max D "Code Boy"
FRC #2169 (KING TeC)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 116
Maxcr1 is a splendid one to beholdMaxcr1 is a splendid one to beholdMaxcr1 is a splendid one to beholdMaxcr1 is a splendid one to beholdMaxcr1 is a splendid one to beholdMaxcr1 is a splendid one to beholdMaxcr1 is a splendid one to behold
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

If a new laptop didn't solve the problem, it is more than likely on your robot. If possible, analyze and upload your DriverStation logfiles. They can provide a ridiculous amount of insight and be an incredible resource for resolving all types of robot problems. Check your ethernet cables. Those frequently short out and die. Also, check your radio power. Are you running PoE? You should be. Try reflashing your radio. Inside of my terrible HS network, we often run into channel interference and have to flash a few times to get onto a channel that isn't terrible. You can use any of the wifi analyzing phone apps for this.

Finally, if these steps don't resolve your problem, please give us as much specific information about your problem as possible, so we can best resolve it. Good luck!
__________________
Max DeVos | Programmer | KING TeC 2169

Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread Yesterday, 12:49 PM
770352 770352 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Harold Griswold
FRC #3572 (Wavelength)
Team Role: Student
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Posts: 22
770352 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

I would look at your radio's power connection and look at your ethernet cables. If it keeps happening, Please check that there is a green light for Firewal or Firewall and that your DS has a good IP (Anything other than 169.xxx.yyy.zzz). If that checks out, Attempt connecting via direct ethernet. If that does fail, attempt to connect using the USB-B connector. If this fails, This indicates there is a problem with either your windows install or your driver station install.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread Today, 10:48 AM
gerthworm's Avatar
gerthworm gerthworm is online now
Making the 1's and 0's
FRC #1736 (Robot Casserole)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 633
gerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond reputegerthworm has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Randomly Disconnects

Quote:
Originally Posted by 770352 View Post
DS has a good IP (Anything other than 169.xxx.yyy.zzz).
There are more stringent requirements for what the IP should be, depending on which connection method is used, and the competition year. For non-USB networking in 2018, the subnet must be 10.TE.AM.XX and the trailing octet is different depending on device.

Unless the DS IP address is getting changed during operation, I do not believe that a bad network config should not cause a disconnect (rather, no connection should ever occurr in the first place).

Quote:
Originally Posted by 770352 View Post
If this fails, This indicates there is a problem with either your windows install or your driver station install.
Are these the only other two sources of problems?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi