OCCRA
Go to Post OK, I have officially been dragged into the 21st century (screaming and kicking the whole way). - KenWittlief [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming > C/C++
CD-Media  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-27-2018, 01:26 PM
elijah1111's Avatar
elijah1111 elijah1111 is offline
Registered User
FRC #4601 (Circuit Birds)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 49
elijah1111 is an unknown quantity at this point
Encoder Class Broken?

Hello everyone,
Quick question I hope. My Encoder Class seems to be royally messed up. I cant seem to be able to program encoders at all. When I write
frc::Encoder *myEncoder;
It comes back as unresolved. I have never had this problem before and everything else seems to work out but anything dealing with Encoders has just suddenly stopped working from last year. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank You,
Elijah
Team 4601

Last edited by elijah1111 : 01-27-2018 at 02:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-29-2018, 03:55 PM
elijah1111's Avatar
elijah1111 elijah1111 is offline
Registered User
FRC #4601 (Circuit Birds)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 49
elijah1111 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Clarification

When I create a new encoder the type is unresolved

frc::Encoder *myEncoder =new Encoder(0);
myEncoder->dosomething();

Error: Type 'frc::Encoder' could not be resolved

I have installed the toolchains and updated the plugins and everything else appears to work. Can any one offer some sort of solution?

Elijah
Team 4601
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-29-2018, 05:34 PM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
Volunteer WPILib Developer, CSA
no team (WPILib)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 536
Peter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond reputePeter Johnson has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Encoder Class Broken?

What are your includes? Are you including WPILib.h or Encoder.h?

Is this an actual compilation error or just a squiggly line in Eclipse? Eclipse's real-time squiggly lines are not always correct--we've heard a number of teams seeing Eclipse report false positives when the code actually builds and deploys just fine.
__________________
WPILib Developer, 2014-Present:
  • Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
  • Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC
Mentor, Team 294, 2008-2018 (World Champions FRC 2010 & FTC 2008)
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-29-2018, 05:56 PM
elijah1111's Avatar
elijah1111 elijah1111 is offline
Registered User
FRC #4601 (Circuit Birds)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 49
elijah1111 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Encoder Class Broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Johnson View Post
What are your includes? Are you including WPILib.h or Encoder.h?

Is this an actual compilation error or just a squiggly line in Eclipse? Eclipse's real-time squiggly lines are not always correct--we've heard a number of teams seeing Eclipse report false positives when the code actually builds and deploys just fine.
It was just an Eclipse problem it compiled
Thank You,
Elijah
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2018, 02:29 AM
MrWaltz's Avatar
MrWaltz MrWaltz is offline
Registered User
FRC #4698 (Rio Robotics)
Team Role: Teacher
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Rookie Year: 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 7
MrWaltz is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Encoder Class Broken?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Johnson View Post
What are your includes? Are you including WPILib.h or Encoder.h?

Is this an actual compilation error or just a squiggly line in Eclipse? Eclipse's real-time squiggly lines are not always correct--we've heard a number of teams seeing Eclipse report false positives when the code actually builds and deploys just fine.
Thanks, we had a false positive too. Programmer was freaking out, but I read your post and told him to trust in the force. It deployed just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi