Go to Post Mmmmm, First Choice day. I can already taste the latency. - ttldomination [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-06-2018, 05:02 PM
ChilliNerd's Avatar
ChilliNerd ChilliNerd is offline
Registered User
AKA: Matt Gallant
FRC #6153 (Blue Crew)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Maine
Posts: 10
ChilliNerd is an unknown quantity at this point
Delivering Power to Jetson on Robot

Today, our team finally got our Jetson TX1! However, a team member brought up the question of how to power it. Considering the power adaptor it comes with is rated for 19V, my question is how do teams deliver power to the Jetsons on their robots?
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-06-2018, 08:30 PM
otherguy's Avatar
otherguy otherguy is offline
sparkE
AKA: James
FRC #2168 (The Aluminum Falcons)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 492
otherguy is a splendid one to beholdotherguy is a splendid one to beholdotherguy is a splendid one to beholdotherguy is a splendid one to beholdotherguy is a splendid one to beholdotherguy is a splendid one to beholdotherguy is a splendid one to behold
Re: Delivering Power to Jetson on Robot

We used this all last year: https://www.amazon.com/RioRand-Conve...dp/B071H39ZN5/

Wire in 12VDC from the PDP, attach a multimeter to the output pins on the regulator, twist the potentiometer until you get roughly 19V (the dev board doesn't actually need this high a voltage, pretty sure it's on board regulators can take down to 12V). The wire up a barrel jack that can plug into the TX1. You'll want to mount it on your robot in a way that ensures it cannot contact other electrical components or metal (3d print a case, Velcro on back, double side tape on back, etc).

Note the one we used was not from this seller, and there are plenty of comparable boost converters that will work in this application from alternate sites (eBay, AliExpress, etc)

Try to stay toward higher current ratings as the advertised specs aren't always accurate on these cheapy boost converters, and the tegra can draw a few amps if I remember correctly. Take a look at the AC adapter it came with for the current rating. If I remember correctly our application didn't break 2A at ~19VDC, but power usage will be completely dependant on what your vision code is doing.
__________________
http://team2168.org
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi