OCCRA
Go to Post The robot was spinning, I dont have the energy to spin like that. - Joe Menassa [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Electrical
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-18-2017, 01:19 PM
GrizBear GrizBear is offline
Registered User
AKA: Mason
FRC #4296 (Trident Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6
GrizBear is an unknown quantity at this point
Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

Hello everyone.

My team decided to build an off season swerve drive. The positioning motors are driven by a talon SRX with Talon SRX Universal Breakout Board (am-3281) and an absolute analog encoder. The encoder works on a 0 to 5V scale, but the problem is, even though the srx should be feeding out the 5V from the analog output to the encoder, it is only reaching about 4.4V max. Without any load, its closer to 4.7V. This causes the issue of a cutout on the readings, leaving it hard to hit accurate positions.

My current solution was to just power the encoder straight from the 5V output on the VRM, but I'd like to know if there is a way to ensure complete output from the SRX...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-18-2017, 01:40 PM
asid61's Avatar
asid61 asid61 is offline
Design Simple
AKA: Anand Rajamani
FRC #1072 (Harker Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 2,595
asid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond reputeasid61 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

You should be powering the encoder off the 5v pin on the SRX, not the analog input if that's what you're trying to do. I'm not sure I read that correctly.
__________________
Team 1072 2017-present
Team 299 2017
Team 115 2013-2016



Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-18-2017, 02:33 PM
GeeTwo's Avatar
GeeTwo GeeTwo is offline
Technical Director
AKA: Gus Michel II
FRC #3946 (Tiger Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 4,755
GeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond reputeGeeTwo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

Quote:
Originally Posted by asid61 View Post
You should be powering the encoder off the 5v pin on the SRX, not the analog input if that's what you're trying to do. I'm not sure I read that correctly.
Agreed. The same processor (in this case the SRX) that reads the sensor should provide the voltage reference. You might want to check the resistance of your sensor, wires, and connections; some corrosion might reduce the voltage readings.
__________________

If you can't find time to do it right, how are you going to find time to do it over?
If you don't pass it on, it never happened.
Robots are great, but inspiration is the reason we're here.
Friends don't let friends use master links.
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-18-2017, 02:51 PM
pkrishna3082's Avatar
pkrishna3082 pkrishna3082 is offline
love/hate relationship with swerve
AKA: Parthiv Krishna
FRC #3082 (Chicken Bot Pie)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Minnetonka, MN, USA
Posts: 203
pkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeTwo View Post
Agreed. The same processor (in this case the SRX) that reads the sensor should provide the voltage reference. You might want to check the resistance of your sensor, wires, and connections; some corrosion might reduce the voltage readings.
Any loose connections (or really any resistance) will cause a voltage drop. So definitely check your wiring.
__________________
2010-2011: FLL 11083, 13873 (Minnetonka Silver) - Programmer
2016-: FRC 3082 (Chicken Bot Pie) - Captain, Programming Lead, Driver, 2017 Dean's List Finalist
2017-: FTC 13471 (Minnetonka) - Mentor
2017-: FIRST Volunteer - 2017 North Champs Student Ambassador
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-19-2017, 10:57 PM
GrizBear GrizBear is offline
Registered User
AKA: Mason
FRC #4296 (Trident Robotics)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6
GrizBear is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

Currently I'm powering from the VRM, because it consitently feeds the 5V. But the SRX analog pinout (Power, signal, ground), isnt supplying the full 5V. Even without the load of the sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-20-2017, 08:53 AM
pkrishna3082's Avatar
pkrishna3082 pkrishna3082 is offline
love/hate relationship with swerve
AKA: Parthiv Krishna
FRC #3082 (Chicken Bot Pie)
Team Role: Programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Minnetonka, MN, USA
Posts: 203
pkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond reputepkrishna3082 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrizBear View Post
Currently I'm powering from the VRM, because it consitently feeds the 5V. But the SRX analog pinout (Power, signal, ground), isnt supplying the full 5V. Even without the load of the sensor.
Have you checked the 5V pin with a multimeter?
__________________
2010-2011: FLL 11083, 13873 (Minnetonka Silver) - Programmer
2016-: FRC 3082 (Chicken Bot Pie) - Captain, Programming Lead, Driver, 2017 Dean's List Finalist
2017-: FTC 13471 (Minnetonka) - Mentor
2017-: FIRST Volunteer - 2017 North Champs Student Ambassador
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-20-2017, 09:20 AM
pilleya's Avatar
pilleya pilleya is offline
Breaking Out
AKA: Alastair
FRC #4613 (Barker Redbacks)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: May 2015
Rookie Year: 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 581
pilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond reputepilleya has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Talon SRX Analog Voltage Output

This is on the last page of the SRX Universal Breakout User Guide:
Quote:
Originally Posted by MACH Engineering LLC
I/O on the Talon SRX Breakout can be set for 5V or 3.3V as required, with 5V being default. However,
the Analog Input to the Talon can only read up to 3.3V. If a 5V sensor is used (such as MA3 Absolute
Encoder), resistors must be changed to read the sensor’s full scale output. The recommended change is
to solder a 43.2kΩ (1% 0805) resistor into C2, and replace R6 with a 22.1kΩ (1% 0805).
__________________
FRC 4613 and FTC teams 11143,44,45 and 46
Ozzy Boards-Parts for FTC and FRC

Last edited by pilleya : 05-20-2017 at 09:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi