OCCRA
Go to Post It's kind of magical how I went from legos to replacing most of the iron in my blood with aluminum, and all thanks to my elementary school science teacher. - Astrokid248 [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > FIRST > General Forum
CD-Media  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:11 PM
mwtidd's Avatar
mwtidd mwtidd is offline
Registered User
AKA: mike
FRC #0319 (Big Bad Bob)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 714
mwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond repute
capping the tower

I was curious if people think capping a tower with a tube would be legal or not.
__________________
"Never let your schooling interfere with your education" -Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:15 PM
SteveGPage's Avatar
SteveGPage SteveGPage is offline
Consulting Mentor
AKA: Steve
FRC #0836 (RoboBees)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Hollywood, MD
Posts: 536
SteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by lineskier View Post
I was curious if people think capping a tower with a tube would be legal or not.
Are you asking if a tube gets tossed from the human player position and it accidently gets hooked around the tower? Or are you asking if you can cap it intentionally?
__________________
FRC 836, The RoboBees www.robobees.org
FTC 13515, The Nerdz East Hardy HS
growingSTEMS www.growingSTEMS.org
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:16 PM
Duke461's Avatar
Duke461 Duke461 is offline
Boiler Strong.
AKA: Ben Carson
FRC #0461 (Westside Boiler Invasion)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana
Posts: 864
Duke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by lineskier View Post
I was curious if people think capping a tower with a tube would be legal or not.
<G23> Contact (via ROBOT or GAME PIECE) with the opposing ALLIANCE’S TOWERS is
prohibited.
Violation: RED CARD
__________________

The opposite of excellence is good enough.
2012-2013 President; 2011-2012 Vice President
2011-offseason FRC Student Drive Coach; 2010-11, 2011-2012 VEX Drive Coach
2011, 2010-offseason FRC Driver/Operator
2012, 2011-offseason, 2010-offseason FRC Human Player
Find me on: Facebook, Gmail, Twitter, Tumblr, Blogger/Blogspot
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:17 PM
Vikesrock Vikesrock is offline
Team 2175 Founder
AKA: Kevin O'Connor
FRC #0238
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Rookie Year: 2007
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 3,312
Vikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond reputeVikesrock has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Vikesrock Send a message via MSN to Vikesrock Send a message via Yahoo to Vikesrock
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke461 View Post
<G23> Contact (via ROBOT or GAME PIECE) with the opposing ALLIANCE’S TOWERS is
prohibited.
Violation: RED CARD
That rule is in the End Game section.
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:21 PM
Duke461's Avatar
Duke461 Duke461 is offline
Boiler Strong.
AKA: Ben Carson
FRC #0461 (Westside Boiler Invasion)
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana
Posts: 864
Duke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond reputeDuke461 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikesrock View Post
That rule is in the End Game section.
my bad. i dont see anything against it, but that would be really hard and they still would have (18) minus (laying sideways height of tube) inches for deployment room. and if you put a bunch over their tower actually scoring them would benefit you more.
__________________

The opposite of excellence is good enough.
2012-2013 President; 2011-2012 Vice President
2011-offseason FRC Student Drive Coach; 2010-11, 2011-2012 VEX Drive Coach
2011, 2010-offseason FRC Driver/Operator
2012, 2011-offseason, 2010-offseason FRC Human Player
Find me on: Facebook, Gmail, Twitter, Tumblr, Blogger/Blogspot
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:21 PM
mwtidd's Avatar
mwtidd mwtidd is offline
Registered User
AKA: mike
FRC #0319 (Big Bad Bob)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 714
mwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveGPage View Post
Are you asking if a tube gets tossed from the human player position and it accidently gets hooked around the tower? Or are you asking if you can cap it intentionally?
Intentionally. Basically it comes down to are whether or not actions done in the teleop period applicable to penalties in the endgame period
__________________
"Never let your schooling interfere with your education" -Mark Twain

Last edited by mwtidd : 01-09-2011 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:23 PM
ATannahill ATannahill is online now
Developing tomorrow's best people
AKA: Alex Tannahill
no team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Southfield, Michigan
Posts: 3,449
ATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond reputeATannahill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

I don't believe there is any rule governing it.

Before we go any further, is there a why behind this?
__________________
I am a volunteer that reads the manual during kickoff day (and updates and Q&A when available) and I try my best to help people with questions that are posted.

I base my answers off of the game manual, Q&A responses and field tour videos at the time of my post. Rules will probably be modified or clarified between this post and your competition. My post means nothing to event officials. Please keep up with team manual updates and the FRC Q&A.
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:25 PM
mwtidd's Avatar
mwtidd mwtidd is offline
Registered User
AKA: mike
FRC #0319 (Big Bad Bob)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 714
mwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke461 View Post
my bad. i dont see anything against it, but that would be really hard and they still would have (18) minus (laying sideways height of tube) inches for deployment room. and if you put a bunch over their tower actually scoring them would benefit you more.
Assuming your minibot is 12" big you would have a 6" window to place it, also you couldn't place it on the base, which may be some teams strategies. blocking a potential 50 points would have drastic implications
__________________
"Never let your schooling interfere with your education" -Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:28 PM
EricH's Avatar
EricH EricH is offline
New year, new team
FRC #1197 (Torbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 22,046
EricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

I don't think it would have any effect other than blocking the lights on the top and annoying the field crew who has to retrieve the tube that's now >10' in the air. And keeping a tube out of play.

Is it possible to do? I think so. But I also think that risk/reward just ain't in favor of doing so.

I'd personally (and I'm not a ref) call putting a tube over the tower as intentionally blocking deployment via pole contact, if it made it to the bottom. That's not a light penalty, either.
__________________
Past teams:
2003-2007: FRC0330 BeachBots; 2008: FRC1135 Shmoebotics; 2012: FRC4046 Schroedinger's Dragons

"Rockets are tricky..."--Elon Musk



Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:28 PM
SteveGPage's Avatar
SteveGPage SteveGPage is offline
Consulting Mentor
AKA: Steve
FRC #0836 (RoboBees)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Hollywood, MD
Posts: 536
SteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond reputeSteveGPage has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by lineskier View Post
Assuming your minibot is 12" big you would have a 6" window to place it, also you couldn't place it on the base, which may be some teams strategies. blocking a potential 50 points would have drastic implications
Sounds like a good question for the Q&A!
__________________
FRC 836, The RoboBees www.robobees.org
FTC 13515, The Nerdz East Hardy HS
growingSTEMS www.growingSTEMS.org
Reply With Quote
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:41 PM
DonRotolo's Avatar
DonRotolo DonRotolo is offline
Waiting for the storm
FRC #0832
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 7,327
DonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond reputeDonRotolo has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

<G23> covers opposing towers, and (unless it's within the last 10 seconds) you can't break the plane of the base of the tower without penalty (can't find that rule, but it was specifically called out at kickoff).
__________________

*All comments are mine and do not represent my place of employment*
Reply With Quote
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:51 PM
mwtidd's Avatar
mwtidd mwtidd is offline
Registered User
AKA: mike
FRC #0319 (Big Bad Bob)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 714
mwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricH View Post
I don't think it would have any effect other than blocking the lights on the top and annoying the field crew who has to retrieve the tube that's now >10' in the air. And keeping a tube out of play.
The round tubes have a diameter of 12" and are flexible, the disks at the top of the poll are 12" too. This means that potentially the disk could fall down the to the bottom.
__________________
"Never let your schooling interfere with your education" -Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 09:53 PM
mwtidd's Avatar
mwtidd mwtidd is offline
Registered User
AKA: mike
FRC #0319 (Big Bad Bob)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 714
mwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonRotolo View Post
<G23> covers opposing towers, and (unless it's within the last 10 seconds) you can't break the plane of the base of the tower without penalty (can't find that rule, but it was specifically called out at kickoff).
I think breaking the plane classifies as deployment which would be covered in the rule. However I think this only applies to breaking the plane in your tower.

Also G23 is only covered by the end game, not the teleop period.
__________________
"Never let your schooling interfere with your education" -Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #14   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 10:24 PM
EricH's Avatar
EricH EricH is offline
New year, new team
FRC #1197 (Torbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 22,046
EricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by lineskier View Post
The round tubes have a diameter of 12" and are flexible, the disks at the top of the poll are 12" too. This means that potentially the disk could fall down the to the bottom.
Read the rest of the post.

1) Field reset will want to do mean things to you. They have to remove the tubes.
2) If I were the head ref, I'd see intentional blocking. Boom, red card. See that blue box below <G24>? It's not a rule, but it does say something about throwing tubes at minibots climbing. I'd figure on that being enough to pull the card; you are interfering with deployment.
__________________
Past teams:
2003-2007: FRC0330 BeachBots; 2008: FRC1135 Shmoebotics; 2012: FRC4046 Schroedinger's Dragons

"Rockets are tricky..."--Elon Musk



Reply With Quote
  #15   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 01-09-2011, 10:27 PM
mwtidd's Avatar
mwtidd mwtidd is offline
Registered User
AKA: mike
FRC #0319 (Big Bad Bob)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 714
mwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond reputemwtidd has a reputation beyond repute
Re: capping the tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricH View Post
Read the rest of the post.

1) Field reset will want to do mean things to you. They have to remove the tubes.
2) If I were the head ref, I'd see intentional blocking. Boom, red card. See that blue box below <G24>? It's not a rule, but it does say something about throwing tubes at minibots climbing. I'd figure on that being enough to pull the card; you are interfering with deployment.
Right, but the action took place during teleop, and this is the big question I have, if you do something during telelop can you be penalized for it during the end game.

if it was done, i'd assume the same rule for minibot would apply, you got them on, you have to get them off.
__________________
"Never let your schooling interfere with your education" -Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi