Go to Post After it took us weeks to machine sideplates for our 8WD, seeing their simple yet effective drivetrain was a huge "forehead slap" moment. - Chris is me [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > FIRST > General Forum
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 04:28 PM
Daniel_AK's Avatar
Daniel_AK Daniel_AK is offline
Registered User
FRC #4903 (Massey Mustangs)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Windsor
Posts: 4
Daniel_AK is an unknown quantity at this point
Robot Automatically Disables

We have our robot fully functioning without any errors, but for some reason it seems to disable itself after a certain amount of time. We figured out that after 2 minutes and 30 seconds (Teleop period duration time), the robot disables, and in order to enable it again we have to reset the Roborio. Was this included in the FRC update?
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 04:29 PM
EricH's Avatar
EricH EricH is online now
New year, new team
FRC #1197 (Torbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 21,375
EricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Are you running in Practice Match mode? I seem to recall that the Driver's Station has a mode to simulate practice matches.
__________________
Past teams:
2003-2007: FRC0330 BeachBots; 2008: FRC1135 Shmoebotics; 2012: FRC4046 Schroedinger's Dragons

"Rockets are tricky..."--Elon Musk


Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 04:30 PM
nickbrickmaster's Avatar
nickbrickmaster nickbrickmaster is offline
Not Allowed Near Power Tools
AKA: Nick Schatz
FRC #3184 (Blaze Robotics)
Team Role: Leadership
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: Eagan MN
Posts: 358
nickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond reputenickbrickmaster has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Are you sure that you're running in Teleop mode and not Practice mode? I haven't used Practice mode for a few years, but IIRC it simulates the timing of a real match. I don't recall whether it disables the robot until reset though.
__________________
FRC Part Exchange admin
I have approximate knowledge of many things.
Any man who must say "I am the king" is no true king.
2018 is the year of Minnesota on Einstein.
FRC 3184: 2014-, FTC 10648: 2015-2016
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 04:31 PM
JohnFogarty's Avatar
JohnFogarty JohnFogarty is offline
FRC South Region Recap Host on FUN
FRC #1102 (M'Aiken Magic & Team FUN)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 1,727
JohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond reputeJohnFogarty has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel_AK View Post
We have our robot fully functioning without any errors, but for some reason it seems to disable itself after a certain amount of time. We figured out that after 2 minutes and 30 seconds (Teleop period duration time), the robot disables, and in order to enable it again we have to reset the Roborio. Was this included in the FRC update?
Is your robot becoming disabled, or is it disconnecting from the driver station?

If it is the latter there is an update to the FRC Software Suite that addresses this.
__________________
John Fogarty - 12 Years in FIRST
FLL 1102 -> FTC 3864/1102 | FRC 1102 -> FRC 1772 -> FRC 4901 -> FRC 5632 | FTC 11444 -> FRC 1102 | VRC 5817
Head Coach - FRC Team 1102 M'Aiken Magic
"By teaching students the power of STEM, we're M'Aiken Magic happen!"
2010 FTC World Championship Winner - FTC Team 3864 Driver/Captain
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 04:53 PM
Daniel_AK's Avatar
Daniel_AK Daniel_AK is offline
Registered User
FRC #4903 (Massey Mustangs)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Windsor
Posts: 4
Daniel_AK is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

We checked our FRC Software and found that everything was up to date. We have tested our robot both in Practice and Teleop, no luck. After the 2 minutes and 30 seconds we lose communication.

Daniel Akpedeye
Driver, 4903
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 08:22 PM
garyk garyk is offline
Programming Mentor, 972 and 2643
FRC #2643 (Dark Matter)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Santa Clara (Silicon Valley) Calif.
Posts: 169
garyk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant future
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Does the Drivers Station actually show lost comms? The Communications indicator, just below the battery voltage, turns red? The log files show comms lost: https://wpilib.screenstepslive.com/s...og-file-viewer? Forgive me if you know this, but not everyone does.

Does it happen connected by USB too? Itís good you checked the software revs. Did it just start happening? Go back to an earlier version of your code (youíre backing all them up, right?)

Try a different laptop? Sorry, you may have done all this.
__________________

Silicon Valley Regional 2005, 2006 972
Silicon Valley Regional 2007 668 Xerox Creativity Award
Championship Event 2007 668
Portland Regional 2008 668
Silicon Valley Regional 2008 668, 972
Beta Test Team 2008 668 (with 100 & 254)
Silicon Valley Regional 2009 668 Regional Chairman's Award; 2643
Sacramento Regional 2009 668 Winning Alliance (thanks, 1717 & 2473!), 2010 Winning Alliance 3256
CalGames 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 Field Tech
NorCal FTC Regional 2008, 2009 Inspector
Championship Event 2009
San Diego, Silicon Valley Regionals; Champ. Event 2010 668, 2643, 3256
Silicon Valley, Madera Regional 2012 2643
WRRF Programming Instructor 2006-2016
Regional Woodie Flowers Award 2014 2643 Utah Regional

Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 10:15 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,870
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

What image is installed on the roboRIO?
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2018, 02:13 PM
Daniel_AK's Avatar
Daniel_AK Daniel_AK is offline
Registered User
FRC #4903 (Massey Mustangs)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Windsor
Posts: 4
Daniel_AK is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Problem solved, we thought that FRC Update Suite v18.0.0 was the latest version but we found that it was actually v18.1.0. Everything's back to normal.

Thanks for all the help!
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2018, 05:36 PM
garyk garyk is offline
Programming Mentor, 972 and 2643
FRC #2643 (Dark Matter)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Santa Clara (Silicon Valley) Calif.
Posts: 169
garyk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant futuregaryk has a brilliant future
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Thank you for letting all of us know!
__________________

Silicon Valley Regional 2005, 2006 972
Silicon Valley Regional 2007 668 Xerox Creativity Award
Championship Event 2007 668
Portland Regional 2008 668
Silicon Valley Regional 2008 668, 972
Beta Test Team 2008 668 (with 100 & 254)
Silicon Valley Regional 2009 668 Regional Chairman's Award; 2643
Sacramento Regional 2009 668 Winning Alliance (thanks, 1717 & 2473!), 2010 Winning Alliance 3256
CalGames 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 Field Tech
NorCal FTC Regional 2008, 2009 Inspector
Championship Event 2009
San Diego, Silicon Valley Regionals; Champ. Event 2010 668, 2643, 3256
Silicon Valley, Madera Regional 2012 2643
WRRF Programming Instructor 2006-2016
Regional Woodie Flowers Award 2014 2643 Utah Regional

Reply With Quote
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2018, 10:28 PM
Daniel_AK's Avatar
Daniel_AK Daniel_AK is offline
Registered User
FRC #4903 (Massey Mustangs)
Team Role: Driver
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Rookie Year: 2016
Location: Windsor
Posts: 4
Daniel_AK is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Robot Automatically Disables

Problem solved, we thought that FRC Update Suite v18.0.0 was the latest version but we found that it was actually v18.1.0. Everything's back to normal.

Thanks for all the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi