Go to Post While the Banners initiate the outreach, eventually, the outreach becomes the Banner. - MysterE [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 06:43 PM
mandrews281 mandrews281 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0281
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 101
mandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to behold
Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

So I installed eclipse and the WPI plugin on our driver station. We wanted to try Shuffleboard, but when we start it up it seems that it wants to connect to an update Server -- we get a window that says "No Connection. Unable to connect to the update server" with no way to continue or close. Our drivers station is only connected to the robot, so of course there's no internet connection (and there won't be at a competition event either).

Yesterday, I wire connected the DS to the internet and wirelessly connected it to the robot. In this case ShuffleBoard could confirm it was up to date and ran ok and was fine for the rest of the day. But today, it's back trying to check the update server today.

Is there any way to disable this update check in Shuffleboard?
__________________
Michael Andrews
Team #281 Programming Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 06:59 PM
forbes's Avatar
forbes forbes is offline
NYC Googler
AKA: Evan Forbes
FRC #0694 (StuyPulse)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Rookie Year: 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 317
forbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant futureforbes has a brilliant future
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Yes, it can be disabled in the settings (when you're connected to the internet at least). I agree this behavior is not good and is probably a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 07:02 PM
SamCarlberg's Avatar
SamCarlberg SamCarlberg is offline
GRIP/Shuffleboard/WPILib. 2084 alum
FRC #2084
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 345
SamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud of
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Yep, this has been fixed. The next release will be much less intrusive, and should be out in the coming days. Forbes' suggestion will work in the meanwhile
__________________
WPILib developer
GRIP, RobotBuilder, Shuffleboard
Reply With Quote
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-13-2018, 09:36 PM
MrNick's Avatar
MrNick MrNick is offline
Registered User
FRC #0088 (TJ^2)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Rookie Year: 2014
Location: Bridgewater, MA
Posts: 66
MrNick is a jewel in the roughMrNick is a jewel in the roughMrNick is a jewel in the roughMrNick is a jewel in the rough
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Glad this is going to be fixed. We've been using shuffleboard all along this season and are really enjoying it. But after the last update, it basically became unusable. There are other issues besides the update message. If you redeploy code, it stopped working until it was restarted (which was a chore, because you would have to connect to the internet to start). I also found that if I closed shuffleboard, the javaw.exe running it would stick around, eat up memory, and prevent the shuffleboard from being relaunched until I killed it.

So, we had to switch back to the smart dashboard...which, unfortunately, doesn't recognize the grouping that shuffleboard does. So, all of our data, which is all grouped, wasn't there until we removed the "/"s.

I hope this information is helpful in improving shuffleboard. As I said, we really like it when it is working well. The multiple graphing capability is very easy to use and works well. The grouping is great, too, and makes it easy to display all the data for a subsystem quickly.
__________________




2018 SE Mass District Event Winner
2018 WPI District Event Winner
2017 SE Mass District Event Winner
2016 Granite State District Event Winner
Reply With Quote
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2018, 12:28 AM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
WPILib Developer
FRC #0294 (Beach Cities Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 524
Peter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant future
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNick View Post
Glad this is going to be fixed. We've been using shuffleboard all along this season and are really enjoying it. But after the last update, it basically became unusable. There are other issues besides the update message. If you redeploy code, it stopped working until it was restarted (which was a chore, because you would have to connect to the internet to start). I also found that if I closed shuffleboard, the javaw.exe running it would stick around, eat up memory, and prevent the shuffleboard from being relaunched until I killed it.
Note you can hit the escape key to dismiss/close the update warning message.
__________________
Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC

2010 FRC World Champions (294, 67, 177)
2007 FTC World Champions (30, 74, 23)
2001 FRC National Champions (71, 294, 125, 365, 279)
Reply With Quote
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2018, 05:42 PM
mandrews281 mandrews281 is offline
Registered User
FRC #0281
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 101
mandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to beholdmandrews281 is a splendid one to behold
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Thanks everyone and especially to Peter for the ESC key tip. Just went out and showed the kids.

I look forward to the next update. Maybe there's hope for Shuffleboard yet.
__________________
Michael Andrews
Team #281 Programming Mentor
Reply With Quote
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2018, 05:44 PM
SamCarlberg's Avatar
SamCarlberg SamCarlberg is offline
GRIP/Shuffleboard/WPILib. 2084 alum
FRC #2084
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Rookie Year: 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 345
SamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud ofSamCarlberg has much to be proud of
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrews281 View Post
I look forward to the next update.
It's already been released You can update the Eclipse plugins or run shuffleboard's updater to get it
__________________
WPILib developer
GRIP, RobotBuilder, Shuffleboard
Reply With Quote
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-24-2018, 07:38 AM
Coach Seb's Avatar
Coach Seb Coach Seb is offline
Registered User
AKA: Sebastien Cournoyer
FRC #5860 (Full Metal Muskrats)
Team Role: Coach
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Rookie Year: 2015
Location: Algonac, MI
Posts: 262
Coach Seb is a glorious beacon of lightCoach Seb is a glorious beacon of lightCoach Seb is a glorious beacon of lightCoach Seb is a glorious beacon of lightCoach Seb is a glorious beacon of lightCoach Seb is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

so we are running 1.2.0.... it telling us that there is an update and that the 1.2.1 version is available. We then download and it ask to restart the Shuffleboard... we do that and then whne it restart, it keep telling us that it needs to be updated and we go to the cycle again...

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-24-2018, 12:41 PM
Joe Ross's Avatar Unsung FIRST Hero
Joe Ross Joe Ross is offline
Registered User
FRC #0330 (Beachbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1997
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,969
Joe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond reputeJoe Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Shuffleboard Connecting to Update Server??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Seb View Post
so we are running 1.2.0.... it telling us that there is an update and that the 1.2.1 version is available. We then download and it ask to restart the Shuffleboard... we do that and then whne it restart, it keep telling us that it needs to be updated and we go to the cycle again...

Any help would be appreciated.
Do you have a space in the path? See this issue: https://github.com/wpilibsuite/shuffleboard/issues/423

In the meantime, you can update the eclipse plugins to 2018.3.3 or download shuffleboard 1.2.1 from here: http://first.wpi.edu/FRC/roborio/mav...ard/app/1.2.1/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi