Go to Post A good teacher always needs to be a good student - Redhead Jokes [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-19-2018, 07:55 PM
jfitz0807 jfitz0807 is offline
Registered User
FRC #2877 (Ligerbots)
Team Role: Parent
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 77
jfitz0807 is an unknown quantity at this point
Network Tables not propagating from RoboRio

We are doing our vision processing with Python cscore on an odroid processor (small linux box). Our robot code is java. We are using NetworkTables to send data between the two.

We are monitoring the network tables via OutlineViewer.

In the robot java code, we're using SmartDashboard.putString('/vision/active_mode') to change the settings in the camera server. In the vision code on the odroid we're using the ntproperty ('/SmartDashboard/vision/active_mode').

When the robot code changes the property value, we see it in OutlineViewer, but the odroid python visionserver does not see the update. However, if we change the property in OutlineViewer, then the visionserver python code does see the change.

We even tried putting in a check in teleopPeriodic() to change the property every two seconds. The OutlineViewer updates, the code writes out the property to the riolog, but the visionserver still doesn't see the update.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2018, 01:01 AM
Peter Johnson Peter Johnson is offline
WPILib Developer
FRC #0294 (Beach Cities Robotics)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Rookie Year: 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 524
Peter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant futurePeter Johnson has a brilliant future
Re: Network Tables not propagating from RoboRio

This sounds like the same issue as https://groups.google.com/forum/?utm...A/eZIJRWW0CAAJ ?

Don't put a leading slash on the SmartDashboard string.
__________________
Author of cscore - WPILib CameraServer for 2017+
Author of ntcore - WPILib NetworkTables for 2016+
Creator of RobotPy - Python for FRC

2010 FRC World Champions (294, 67, 177)
2007 FTC World Champions (30, 74, 23)
2001 FRC National Champions (71, 294, 125, 365, 279)
Reply With Quote
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2018, 03:33 PM
jfitz0807 jfitz0807 is offline
Registered User
FRC #2877 (Ligerbots)
Team Role: Parent
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Rookie Year: 2009
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 77
jfitz0807 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Network Tables not propagating from RoboRio

Thanks. I was actually sitting next to the guy who posted on google group. He posted there and I posted here.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi