Go to Post And Dave, although I know you have connections, please don't slow the earth's rotation to get more time on the caption contest. ;) - Billfred [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Technical > Programming
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 07:50 PM
1594code 1594code is offline
Registered User
FRC #1594
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 16
1594code is an unknown quantity at this point
Persistent "no robot controller found" error

We've had a sporadic error in the past few days. When we try to download any hex file to the robot with IFI Loader, we get the error "No robot contoller found," with the IFI_Loader error window that reminds us to check power is on, cable connected, and Program State LED orange.

We have doubly checked all of these things, and we've confirmed IFI_Loader is using port COM1 (our only COM port). We reinstalled IFI_Loader and restarted. We have charged the blue RC backup battery. We are running v.1.1.0 of IFI_Loader.

We tried using our computer with last year's RC, and we can verify the robot controller connection, which makes us think this may be an electronics problem?

We can't even download the default code, which makes us think this wouldn't be a programming error... We had this problem Saturday, and then things worked Monday, and then Tuesday the problem recurred.

Any ideas?
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 08:06 PM
Greg Ross's Avatar
Greg Ross Greg Ross is offline
Grammar Curmudgeon
AKA: gwross
FRC #0330 (Beach 'Bots)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Greg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Greg Ross Send a message via Yahoo to Greg Ross
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Are you running any other programs that might be using the serial port? I believe this is the error that is reported when ifi_loader is unable to open the serial port.
__________________
Greg Ross (The Grammar Curmudgeon formerly known as gwross)
S/W Engineer, Team 330, the Beach 'Bots
<--The Grammar Curmudgeon loves this cartoon.
ôLife should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!" Hunter S. Thompson
"Playing a practical joke means doing something mean and calling it funny." Me
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 08:08 PM
X-Istence X-Istence is offline
Melt the RC controller!
AKA: Bert JW Regeer
no team
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Montville
Posts: 151
X-Istence will become famous soon enoughX-Istence will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to X-Istence Send a message via MSN to X-Istence
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

From one of the menu's at the top select verify robot controller, or something to that effect, that fixed it for me at least.
__________________
My Blog!
  #4   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 08:10 PM
1594code 1594code is offline
Registered User
FRC #1594
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 16
1594code is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by GW (Greg) Ross
Are you running any other programs that might be using the serial port? I believe this is the error that is reported when ifi_loader is unable to open the serial port.
Thank you for your reply. We usually have MPLab open. Would it have any reason to use the com port? We will try again tomorrow with IFI_Loader running with no other programs open.
  #5   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 08:23 PM
Greg Ross's Avatar
Greg Ross Greg Ross is offline
Grammar Curmudgeon
AKA: gwross
FRC #0330 (Beach 'Bots)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rookie Year: 1998
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Greg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond reputeGreg Ross has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Greg Ross Send a message via Yahoo to Greg Ross
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1594code
We usually have MPLab open. Would it have any reason to use the com port? We will try again tomorrow with IFI_Loader running with no other programs open.
I can't think of anything that MPLAB might be using the com port for. I do know that I almost always have MPLAB open when I download to the RC.
__________________
Greg Ross (The Grammar Curmudgeon formerly known as gwross)
S/W Engineer, Team 330, the Beach 'Bots
<--The Grammar Curmudgeon loves this cartoon.
ôLife should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!" Hunter S. Thompson
"Playing a practical joke means doing something mean and calling it funny." Me
  #6   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 10:00 PM
teh_r4v3 teh_r4v3 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Rajeev Sharma
FRC #1511 (Rolling Thunder)
Team Role: Student
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Penfield, NY
Posts: 15
teh_r4v3 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to teh_r4v3
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Make sure that you have the modems on the right sides. I believe the one with the small black antenna should be connected to the RC, and the one with the silver antenna connected to the OI. We did that and spent quite some time troubleshooting before we realized what was going on.
__________________
Rajeev Sharma

Team 1511 Rolling Thunder

hoojamomma?
  #7   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 10:52 PM
Matt Krass's Avatar
Matt Krass Matt Krass is offline
"Old" and Cranky. Get off my lawn!
AKA: Dark Ages
FRC #0263 (Sachem Aftershock)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,187
Matt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond reputeMatt Krass has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Matt Krass
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by teh_r4v3
Make sure that you have the modems on the right sides. I believe the one with the small black antenna should be connected to the RC, and the one with the silver antenna connected to the OI. We did that and spent quite some time troubleshooting before we realized what was going on.
I don't see what this has to do with programming it?

What are the LEDs on the RC doing? I had a problem like this, it seemed to be trapped in program mode and wouldn't respond, booting just the master processor. Hold PROG and RESET for about 15 seconds, then release RESET. You should get a green power light, an orange program state light, and three dark LEDs. I may have reversed the procedure to release the buttons, if it doesn't work, try releasing PROGRAM instead of RESET...
__________________
Matt Krass
If I suggest something to try and fix a problem, and you don't understand what I mean, please PM me!

I'm a FIRST relic of sorts, I remember when we used PBASIC and we got CH Flightsticks in the KoP. In my day we didn't have motorized carts, we pushed our robots uphill, both ways! (Houston 2003!)
  #8   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 11:03 PM
sburro's Avatar
sburro sburro is offline
Registered User
AKA: Joe
FRC #0663 (crusaders)
Team Role: Mentor
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Rookie Year: 2002
Location: LOWELL
Posts: 129
sburro will become famous soon enoughsburro will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to sburro
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1594code
We've had a sporadic error in the past few days. When we try to download any hex file to the robot with IFI Loader, we get the error "No robot contoller found," with the IFI_Loader error window that reminds us to check power is on, cable connected, and Program State LED orange.

We have doubly checked all of these things, and we've confirmed IFI_Loader is using port COM1 (our only COM port). We reinstalled IFI_Loader and restarted. We have charged the blue RC backup battery. We are running v.1.1.0 of IFI_Loader.

We tried using our computer with last year's RC, and we can verify the robot controller connection, which makes us think this may be an electronics problem?

We can't even download the default code, which makes us think this wouldn't be a programming error... We had this problem Saturday, and then things worked Monday, and then Tuesday the problem recurred.

Any ideas?
Our team had a similar problem like that. The controler seamed to be in program state and would not come out of it. Being a Mechanical guy, I did the only thing I know, dry run it. Unplug both batteries, all serial cords and turn the robot on and off several times. Hit the program and reset buttons a few times and then plug everything back in. What I am attempting to do here is clear out the loop in the controler making it think it is in program mode.


Disclaimer: I am a mechanical guy and know little of programing or code. All I know is this worked for us. I am sure someone will tell me that there are severalif not all steps that did not need to be done.
__________________
K.I.S.S
Keeping It Simple Stupid
  #9   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 11:03 PM
X-Istence X-Istence is offline
Melt the RC controller!
AKA: Bert JW Regeer
no team
Team Role: Alumni
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Rookie Year: 2006
Location: Montville
Posts: 151
X-Istence will become famous soon enoughX-Istence will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to X-Istence Send a message via MSN to X-Istence
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Might want to try uploading the master code again, see if that helps.
__________________
My Blog!
  #10   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-14-2006, 11:19 PM
teh_r4v3 teh_r4v3 is offline
Registered User
AKA: Rajeev Sharma
FRC #1511 (Rolling Thunder)
Team Role: Student
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Rookie Year: 2005
Location: Penfield, NY
Posts: 15
teh_r4v3 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to teh_r4v3
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Krass
I don't see what this has to do with programming it?
Whoops, that's what i get for not really reading the thread properly...
I was thinking about the OI not found error (you know, it can communicate over tether but not over the wireless modems). My bad.

Thinking about that error... are you using the correct cable? Make sure it is one of the black ones used for programming and the radio, not the red tether. Also, not really sure if this will stop it from programming, but maybe make sure that your backup battery is fully charged/connected?
__________________
Rajeev Sharma

Team 1511 Rolling Thunder

hoojamomma?
  #11   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2006, 06:33 PM
1594code 1594code is offline
Registered User
FRC #1594
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 16
1594code is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Thank you for so many tips!

We still haven't had success getting the computer to see the RC.

We are using a black serial cable to download the program. We charged the RC backup battery overnight.

One of our mentors suggested disconnecting the batteries and leaving everything on for 24 hours. We'll see if that helps...
  #12   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-15-2006, 06:36 PM
EricH's Avatar
EricH EricH is offline
New year, new team
FRC #1197 (Torbots)
Team Role: Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Rookie Year: 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 21,219
EricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond reputeEricH has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1594code
We are using a black serial cable to download the program. We charged the RC backup battery overnight.
I'm not a programmer, but have you tried using the tether (red or cream cable) at all?
__________________
Past teams:
2003-2007: FRC0330 BeachBots; 2008: FRC1135 Shmoebotics; 2012: FRC4046 Schroedinger's Dragons

"Rockets are tricky..."--Elon Musk


  #13   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 02-20-2006, 08:59 PM
1594code 1594code is offline
Registered User
FRC #1594
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 16
1594code is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Persistent "no robot controller found" error

MANY THANKS to everybody who posted suggestions! We tried all of them. Unfortunately, none worked. We posted the same question to the IFI Robotics support forum, which led to an email, which led to a 45 minute phone call with IFI. After a few tests/diagnostics with our 2005 and 2006 robot controllers, the IFI tech decided we should ship our 2006 RC back to Texas. We FedEx-ed it overnight.

An IFI tech called us the next morning to report faulty soldering connected to the programming port! He repaired the problem. We have it back, and things are working fine now...
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
robot controller 2005 2004 CharlieWilken Programming 5 02-20-2006 09:43 AM
[moderated]: A Challenge: YOU Rewrite G25 Tom Bottiglieri General Forum 10 03-30-2005 09:18 PM
Can we not ship Robot Controller? Doug G General Forum 8 02-22-2005 05:33 PM
Best Robot Ever(again) Corey Balint General Forum 26 08-04-2004 11:03 PM
about how Drive Train push the robot... shouldn't the force accelerate the robot? Ken Leung Technical Discussion 12 11-26-2001 09:39 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.

The Chief Delphi Forums are sponsored by Innovation First International, Inc.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © Chief Delphi