Go to Post Push the envelope a little, but not too much. There's a difference between being on the cutting edge and being on the bleeding edge. - cadandcookies [more]
Home
Go Back   Chief Delphi > Other > Chit-Chat
CD-Media   CD-Spy  
portal register members calendar search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ rules

#1   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-03-2011, 10:28 PM
Crimpin' ain't easy
no team (Looking for a team)
Team Role: College Student

Rookie Year: 2010
Kusha is a jewel in the roughKusha is a jewel in the roughKusha is a jewel in the roughKusha is a jewel in the rough
Arduino?

Well, I'm a sophomore and a month back I bought my first arduino after reading up about it at 2am since I couldn't sleep.

I've been designing a robot that would be a 3 motor 3 omni wheel, kiwi drive in cad.

My question is, is this a good starting point for me? I've played around with it with some old dc motors I took out of some CD drives. Learned how transistors and capacitors work. I'm currently looking for a good bluetooth module to attempt to get the robot I'm building controlled via android. Along with 3 good motors, some omniwheels and a ultrasonic sensor that will be mounted on an servo.

Am I putting too much on my plate, or is this a good goal and a good starting place for me?
  #2   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-03-2011, 10:36 PM
Alumni
AKA: David Yoon
FRC #0589 (Falkons)
Team Role: Alumni

davidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud ofdavidthefat has much to be proud of
Re: Arduino?

I would say that it is a great project. I say go for it, what do you have to lose? Even if you "fail", you would have learned so much along the way.
  #3   Spotlight this post!  
Unread 05-03-2011, 10:39 PM
Crimpin' ain't easy