2006 Season - The Negative

What could FIRST stand to improve upon this year?

I’m with a rookie team, here as a chaperone (parent of a team member), although I am also an engineer.

I know that the Event is open to the public, but is the public invited? It looks like almost everyone here is with a team, or helping to put on the show. Where are the yellow busses full of local kids I expect to see? and their parents? and other folks who might get a kick out of watching machines play ball, and might get inspired to think “hey, that looks like fun, I wonder if I could do that!”?

Is this event presented to the media as a spectator sport?

Does the faculty of EVERY school within reasonable driving distance know about this event?

The same questions apply to the regionals

Actually, at VCU they were giving tours of the pits. But, you’re right it’s not enough. How is FIRST supposed to change culture when mostly the only people who know its going on are either directly related to it or work at a nearby resteraunt. (I’m sure they notice, if you’ve ever seen the Subway across the street from VCU you’d know what I mean)

I think FIRST needs to get more active in the realm of the Mainstream Media! They need more news coverage! They need more people to tell more people. I think a lot of it is in the hands of the teams, but half of the teams and people on those teams (includeing myself) just don’t. We rely on the teams that are known for spreading FIRST rather than ourselves.

FIRST needs to increase the importance in getting the word out. They have done well this year, but they need MORE!