2008 Site Under Development.. Critiques PLEASE

I have been getting mixed reviews from my team, but raving reviews from friends. and i am not sure who is just being polite, and who’s being truthful. I would really appreciate outside reviews. I am quite confused at the moment, and was wondering if anyone would be willing to help me out thanks!

Hm… It’s really compact (could be a positive or negative) but the text is to demanding, not to mention jaggies all over. Also, replace the FIRST website button with the FIRST logo, it’s more professional that way.

My $.02.

*I have no web design experience but do have an eye for organization and color theory.

Im not sure how hard any of this is, it’s just what i thought would make it better.
-I would suggest trying to make the website be the size of the screen. Or some how use that gray space.
-More color. I would suggest more than white and black with a little yellow. But be careful what color you make the text, it might be hard to read.
-Avoid text that says “click here” i think its kinda unnecessary.
-I agree with Budda648 about the first website button.
-a history link might be nice on your menu bar.
-I think you should replace “FIRST robotics team 1114” with "Lightning Lancers team 1114, Or some thing like that. You want to your name as your identity right? not just your number.

These are just my thoughts, i am not an expert and you can disagree with me.
DB

I wouldn’t put “Team members click here” on the home page, as most people visiting the site don’t care. Just tell your team members to go to a page like www.first1444.com/team.html

Some of the spacing is inconsistent. It is often a pain to get this right, but it does look better. In particular, the body text needs a space buffer to the left.

Check your site’s syntax with the W3C’s validator: http://validator.w3.org
It currently has a few errors.