2012 KOP Fisher price with AM Planetary Gearbox

Hello CD,
As far as I know the “AM Planetary Gearbox” is suitable to mounted on the Fisher Price motors from this year’s kit (with the orange ring). I just wanted to know that for sure before we order some from AM.

Thanks,
Team 3083

Considering that they now sell an AM planetary gearbox with FPs installed I would have to say yes: http://www.andymark.com/product-p/am-0822.htm. I have never used these before however, and was wondering if it is possible to directly mount an fp to the gearbox (confused because it also says a cim will mount). It appears so, just want to check before spending $200 on two of them.

We had a gearbox on the AM-0822 lock up the other day. It was on our ball launcher and had just been powered down, but was still coasting at high speed. All of a sudden it just seized up completely.

Opening the gearbox revealed one of the 5 planetary gears totally fused to its shaft. It can’t be turned or removed by hand. The only thing I can think of is that it was installed dry. The other 4 are fine.

I would strongly recommend that you open the boxes and make sure each planetary is well-lubricated. We didn’t and paid the price.

Waiting to hear from Andy Mark.

Has anyone else run into this problem?

We saw something similar – one of the planet gears got stuck, wouldn’t spin. We popped it off with a tool, cleaned it up, re-lubed and re-assembled, and have been running it with no further problems.

Your advice about checking the lubrication is very good.

Oh, and like your team, we were using the AM planetary on a practice shooter wheel.