2014 FRC's Biggest Loser

With the current position HBR has found themselves in, I thought this might be a fun thing to look at.

Share your robot weight situation and describe your remedy.

Let me start by saying the number on the scale shocked me. I have 9 years of FIRST experience and I’ve never seen a robot look so light, but weigh so much.

Initial Robot Weight: 138.4lbs
Final Robot Weight: TBD
Anticipated Weight removal (based on list of remedies): ~21 lbs
Remedy:

• Replace 4 Mini Cims with 3 RS550’s in Cimile gearboxes (~8 lbs.)
  • Rebuild interface frame replacing 1/8" wall 1x1 tube with 1/16" wall (~5 lbs.)
  • Replace 40" of steel 1/2" hex shaft with 1/2" aluminum hex shaft (~1.4 lbs.)
  • Replace 2-1.75" bore 12" stroke cylinders with 1.0625" bore 12" stroke cylinders (~1.4 lbs)
  • Rebuild intake roller with polycarbonate tubing and delrin endplates to replace 3" PVC roller (~2.2 lbs.)
  • Remove excess length from any hardware or replace with a lighter option. (~.25 lbs)
  • Remove webbing from the robot back plate (~2.5 lbs.)
  • Remove 4 unneeded standoffs from drive modules (~.6 lbs.)

EMERGENCY NUCLEAR WEIGHT LOSS OPTION:

• Remove 2 CIMs from the 6 CIM drive (~7 lbs.)

I would do this first.
I fail to see the significant benefit of 7lbs. vs. what 6 cims give you.

Acceleration.

I tend to agree with you, that would be a good place to start for a lot of teams. But without knowing their strategy, it’s hard to know what their best place to lose weight is.

Accelerating quickly might be very important to their strategy and hence, not a great place to start removing weight.

Right now we weigh around 116-117lbs

Our frame without anything on it is only 10 lbs

We have 6 cims and 4 mini cims, 3 banebots or andymarks(I cant remember) and a compressor

I thought we would be way over, but we designed our robot to be as light as possible

We just have to add Plexiglas around the sides for sponsors and a couple of lights

I hope we stay under!