1-8, 1-8, 8-1 huh. #1 alliance gonna be so overpower.
They’ve been doing it like this for a while… the field at IRI is significantly deeper than any regional or even Championships.
This is normal for IRI. Due to the amazing quality of all of the teams at IRI all 8 alliances are usually fairly even.
For clarification’s sake, what will be the requirement for preloading auto balls with 4 of them? As per the official FRC rule <G05>, each of the three balls correspond to a particular robot/team:
For ROBOTS starting in the white ZONE, the TEAM may preload one (1) of their ALLIANCE’s BALLS such that the BALL is touching their ROBOT.
For ROBOTS starting in their GOALIE ZONE the TEAM may decide if the BALL is: staged between the TRUSS and the ZONE LINE and not contacting an ALLIANCE partner, or removed from the FIELD for the MATCH.
If a ROBOT does not report to a MATCH, its ALLIANCE may decide if the BALL is: staged between the TRUSS and the ZONE LINE and not contacting an ALLIANCE partner, or removed from the FIELD for the MATCH.
Are three of the balls still subject to the stated rule? Can the fourth one be in possession of a robot that already has a ball, or must it be placed in the white zone not contacting a robot?
Depending on the interpretation of the changed rule, I could easily see the dominant autonomous strategies being slightly altered. Would 2 robots each possessing two balls to start and a goalie bot be legal? Would 2 robots, each possessing one ball with a second next to it on the carpet not in contact with a robot and a third goalie bot be legal? Would one robot be able to pre-load 2 balls, while the other must have a ball placed on the carpet not in contact with it while the third robot sets up in the goalie zone?
Basically are there still restrictions regarding the preloading/placement of balls and if so, how is the additional ball handled given that there is now 1 more ball than robot on the field per alliance? The answer to these questions could have significant impact on how teams prepare their auto routines for IRI.
The 4th ball rule wasn’t meant to be confusing.
The basic FIRST season rule applies, but if the team wants to use the 4th ball, it can be placed the same as if there was an “extra” ball during the regular season.
And a robot can only start touching 1 ball (just like regular season).
If the alliance wants to start with 2 robots in the white zone and 1 in the goalie zone, then the 2 extra balls can be placed the same as if there was an “extra” ball during the regular season (1 extra for each robot or 2 extra for one robot).
And, i would say that if an alliance wants to start with just 1 robot in the white zone, then the 3 extra balls can be placed the same as if there was an “extra” ball during the regular season.
So, if someone wants to make a 4 ball autonomous, and they can convince their partners to go to the goalie zone, well …
PS - THIS WILL BE CLARIFIED AND CONFIRMED AT THE DRIVERS MEETING -
This would seem to imply that multiple goalie bots is legal. Is this intended?
It’s legal as long as only one has a pole up at a time (per season rules).