2020 Command Based Tutorial

So like many of you I have time on my hands.
One area we have always needed help in is programming. The students have been
very eager and quite bright, but the programming group has not had a dedicated
mentor. As the head coach I want to better understand the Command Based programming
methodology. I have a CS degree and have programmed in both Java and C++ in my career,
however it has been some time.

I have read the WPI docs, they are helpful, but a little dry.
https://docs.wpilib.org/en/latest/docs/software/commandbased/index.html

I also found this wonderful tutorial from FRC 4627 from Manning Robotics

which I have watched several times. However it is for the old Command based programming
not the 2020 rewrite. I understand that RobotContainer = OI and Constants = RobotMap but there are some other significant changes.

My hope is to really grasp this and run a programming boot camp over the summer.
Does anyone know of any other tutorials, video would be great, on the paradigm?

Thanks in advance

3 Likes

Triple Helix has a great introduction to the relevant pieces that you need to know in order to do Command-Based programming well.

It is the old framework, but 95% of it still applies. The only things that have changed are things like RobotMap -> Constants.java, and adding in explicit dependency injection.

There is definitely not going to be much as of yet that specifically targets the new framework. With the framework having only being released ~3months ago, and most of that time having been build season, there hasn’t exactly been time to develop updated tutorials for the rewrite.

The only other really significant changes that I’ve noticed are the use of dependency injection for commands, lambdas for passing data outside of command’s subsystem to commands, and more pushing to have as much of your logic in the RobotContainer as possible through the availability of:

• InstantCommands
  • inline Command Declarations