2020 Component OPR and Match Prediction site

Valor Scout

Personal project to dynamically calculate component OPRs and give match predictions:

viperbotsvalor6800.com/scout

Verified it still works in 2020 this morning now that the first event is underway (Israel)

Background

I have been doing OPR calculations since 2010 when it was just becoming big. (10 years ago.... Where did the time go?) I created an Android app in 2013 using a crappy knock-off Android phone, and 2G service, to dynamically calculate OPRs on the fly and predict match outcomes. Keep in mind, most OPR numbers at the time were posted by Ed Law and Ether on Sunday night in CSV files. TBA didn't calculate OPR until MUCH later.

Now, 10 years later, everyone seems to have OPR calculators and it is instantly available on TBA. New metrics are available, and "generalized" scouting apps are a thing.

So why do I still keep doing this?

• I enjoy coding and I learned to code via OPR calculations. Wouldn't be here today without it
  • I learn what data needs to be collected to properly assess a match
  • I learn what I need going into a match, and can ask my scout lead for the right data elements

Lastly, I want to clarify that me personally and 6800 does not use OPR as the sole metric for scouting and selection. It is just another datapoint, another reference, that we can use when assessing matches. Use whatever data points you feel add to your existing scouting report

Component OPR

The normal OPR equations take the match schedule and the final scores to generate OPRs:

Ax=B - where A is the matrix representing who played who, and B is the matrix representing the sums of the match scores each team has played in.

What this doesn't capture is penalties, or how those points are broken up. By swapping out the B matrix with different sums, we can capture component OPRs.

Examples:

• Auto low cells
  • Penalties
  • Teleop Inner cells