2023 Team Update 05

4 Likes

Time to make some pleather bumpers

27 Likes

I don’t really like what was added about AprilTags…it leaves a weird option for head refs/FTA to disallow replacement tag(s) if they’re damaged at an event. This would make absolutely no sense considering they should be made extremely easy to replace.

25 Likes

If I’ve said it once, I’d said it at least twice now.

Stupid sexy bumpers.

16 Likes

Are they saying they plan to repair the actual data matrix on the tags with manually placed gaffer’s tape? I mean, I guess I’ve never tried doing that before myself, but color me skeptical…

20 Likes

So drive teams can’t bring anything special to communicate with their human player since it isn’t the same ALLIANCE AREA?

If so LED lights even more important.

2 Likes

devices used solely for planning, or tracking strategy, and communicating strategy within the same designated area (e.g. ALLIANCE AREA),

The way I read this, doing things like holding up cards within the driver area to signal the human loading station is no longer allowed. On-robot LEDs it is!

EDIT: The overall list allows non-powered signaling devices without the restriction, so something like a card would still be allowed.

2 Likes

Certainly calls for a Q&A post I think. Needs way more clarification around what they consider damage to the tag itself. Just make them easy to replace.

5 Likes

The tags are black and white, so color isn’t required. :stuck_out_tongue:

15 Likes

This is the second somewhat major change to rules that have largely been the same year after year- why was this not in the manual at kickoff if FIRST intended it this way? I’m not sure I like these type of changes 3 weeks into build season…

6 Likes

Hopefully the field printer is a laser printer so FIRST doesn’t have to increase registration costs again.

3 Likes

But “non powered signaling devices” are still allowed. Feels like conflicting information.

5 Likes