2158 Offseason Blog

Hello every, I’ve finally found courage to post something I’ve been working on since 2019. Its a blog from a mentors perspective on team 2158, The Austin Cans. The blog follows our build progress and our progress as a team as we’ve been improving the past seasons. I’ve been inspired by a few great blogs and thought I could add an interesting perspective, attempting to improve as a team. Specifically improving team culture, student experience, building competitive robots and getting better as mentors.

Might be a little late to the off season build blog part, but don’t worry our progress is all there, just hasn’t been shared publicly much.

Here links to this years off season posts.

If you want to look back into previous seasons

If you want to read my favorite post its “District Championship Recap” it was around here that everything in the world started to return to normal and the feeling was great.

I’ll probably end up making a new topic for the 2023 build blog so it isn’t cluttered by the off season activity. During the season I will be trying my best to post once a day, sometimes as competition approaches the days start to run together and posts might get combined. Competitions will be getting a combined recap post.

With all of that out of the way lets jump into today’s current post. :slightly_smiling_face:

50 Days to Kick Off

Only 50 days left? Wow time flies, the team has come together amazingly over the past four months. Everyone has been extremely productive and engaged. But we are not ready for the season to begin yet(we never are, it might just be me), because of the various school holidays we only have 6 more meetings left before kick off. One of those meetings will be a team build event and one is our mock kick off event so really only 4(!) workable meetings left. Wow a lot to get done before then. Its time to feel the first crunch of the season.

Productivity/Something Else?