2583 Off-Season Drivetrain Help

Hey guys

Our team wanted to prototype a drivetrain in the next few weeks and this is my first try CAD-ing a drivetrain. I would appreciate any help or comments you guys have

A few notes:
I havent added all of the electronics yet like the router and the power distrubution board

The two inner wheels will be connected to the toughbox and the two outer wheels will be connected to the closest inner wheel using Gates HTD 5mm pitch timing belts

It is 8 wheel drive with the two inner wheels dropped 3/16in

The wheels are 4 inch wheels, I am deciding between AndyMark 4 in Hi Grip wheels or Colsons but I dont know what to base my decision on

Are there any changes I should make? As of now our team has access to a sheet metal break and bender and a lathe

First big problem I see is that you only have one Pulley on the Transmission while you NEED 2 from there, one for each wheel it goes to. and you need 2 on the 4 middle wheels because you need a belt going from the middle wheel to the outside wheels.

You can probably make the distance between the inside and outside rails (the rails that have the pulley’s in between them) closer together, will save space and can make your electrical board bigger.

You’re gonna need more support on the transmissions. Trsut me, they will bend/flex, and it isn’t just a small amount, it will be a big enough movement that your belts can fly off the pulley’s. Leaving you lifeless o the field.

You may want to make an easy way to mount bumpers, pretty common is putting some bigger rail’s between the wheels.

I’m sure for this you just threw the things on the electrical board but you are missing come stuff, and may want to add it all in.

Adding a pattern to your electrical board will help you lose a ton of weight, probably 1lb.

Great start, keep up the work, you wil get better as you design more and more.

Ohyeah, now I remember why I left the second pulley off on the transmission