3-inch rule

I know that the rule states that the ball cannot be anymore than 3 inches underneath the robot before it is a penalty. However, I am wondering if this mean 3 inches from the end of the ball, or from the center of the ball.

Thanks,

Mitch Guzman

<G46> BALL Penetration Restriction – The BALL must not extend more than 3 inches inside the FRAME PERIMETER as defined in Rule <R19>. Violation: PENALTY for a basic infraction, plus a YELLOW CARD if no immediate attempt to remedy.

<R19> ROBOTS must be designed so that in normal operation BALLS cannot extend more than 3 inches inside
a) the FRAME PERIMETER below the level of the BUMPER ZONE (see Figure 8-5),
b) a MECHANISM or feature designed to deflect BALLS in a controlled manner that is above the level of the BUMPER ZONE.

I think the words and pictures are quite explanatory. The BALL may extend more than 3 inches inside the FRAME PERIMETER. That means no part of it.