A Bunch Of Hot Air, Or: How To Kind Of Know What You’re Talking About In FRC Pneumatics

My name is Josh, and I’ve been working in automation since 2016. I am currently employed by Festo as an Application Engineer (feel free to shoot me a PM if you ever need Festo help!), primarily helping automotive customers select the right valves, pneumatic actuators, and electric actuators for their machine designs.

The goal of this post is to provide a basic guide to FRC-focused pneumatics systems. Commonly used terms will be defined, some basic best practices will be covered, along with some common pitfalls and FAQs. Other useful resources I’ve stumbled across or been sent by others can be found at the end.

This is not intended to be a definitive guide on how to implement a pneumatics system from nothing, however, one of the resources linked at the end covers this fairly well if that’s what you’re after. I have not evaluated all information in every resource I linked for accuracy, nor am I enough of an expert on all topics to do so.

Definitions have been sourced from my own working knowledge and research, and are targeted at a beginner’s level of understanding. If you have any feedback on terms I may have missed/poorly defined, best practices you have developed, or other useful resources, please chime in!

General Terms
  • Flow rate - a measure of the volume of air that will pass through a component over an amount of time, generally related to port size and component design; typically described by Cv rating or in Standard Cubic Feet per Minute (SCFM)
  • Cv - A coefficient used to describe flow, related to the effective area of the flow path (more info can be found here, but it’s not exactly light reading)
  • SCFM - The volume of air at a specific temperature that flows through a components given a specific drop in pressure across the component (see “standard nominal flow rate” in this document)
Valve Terms