A possibly redundant thread with advice for struggling teams

DISCLAIMER: I am a programmer/mechanic/electronics guy, not a miracle worker.
Hi people! I have absolutely no idea why I decided to post this now of all times, but here goes.
A lot of teams are struggling. Though we don’t like it, it’s a fact. Although there is no cure-all for FRCIsHardItis, I thought I would share some advice from my experience that people may find helpful. And feel free to add to it. In fact, please do!

1. ATTITUDE IS IMPORTANT! I can’t stress this enough. Team 1257 has been through a lot of change in the past few years, but the most important change I have seen is our attitude. Before 2014, we had the attitude that we were bad, and because of that, we were. But when 2014 came around, we had a stroke of luck that boosted our morale. And that has made a world of difference; we have gone from dead last in 2013 to almost making it to worlds in 2014 and 2015. While I cannot guarantee a stroke of luck for every team, I can guarantee that if you change your attitude for the better, your chances of doing well will improve.
  2. You need to fundraise. A lot. Seriously. It opens up doors that would otherwise be slammed shut in your face. People complain about not having money; these people either haven’t tried fundraising yet or just have really bad luck doing it. Because I guarantee you, fundraising WILL get you money. Some just have to work harder than others at it.