A Thank You and a Complaint

I’m currently watching the Central Illinois Regional on stream, and in match 58 the FTA allowed 2338 a pretty significant amount of time to figure out pre-match field connection issues. In addition to the FTA, there were multiple other volunteers out there helping where they could. I’d like to thank the FTA for going out of his way to make sure the match would be fair for all teams.

When I was a student, there was nothing more demoralizing than losing a match because your robot, or a partner’s robot, didn’t connect to the field. It still felt bad when you won against an alliance with a disconnected robot- it doesn’t feel like you earned the win. It was even worse to find out it was a problem which would have needed no more than 5-ish minutes to fix, and could easily have been fixed on the field. I probably saw this happen a dozen times or more in my 4 years as a student, and I know I have seen it since.

I understand that we don’t want to get too far behind, but it’s not like this kind of problem occurs on a regular basis. In a broad sense, the goal of the FRC program is to provide personal fulfillment to the students through a high-octane engineering competition. I feel that this purpose is diminished when the desire to stay on schedule prevails over the desire to provide all teams with an even playing field.

Win win solution, make every team understand the incredible importance of getting inspected early and into the practice field. The very special feature you’re working on doesn’t matter if your robot is disconnected. More functioning teams gets a smoother schedule and more leeway to help the teams that need it without going off schedule too much.

I do agree that doing inspections early is good, and it’s important to get to at least one practice match to make sure you can at least move.