Accelerometer Showing All Zeros

I’m trying to get the accelerometer to work using Java, but I’m having some trouble. I’m wiring it with I2C and using the “ADXL345_I2C” class. When I try to print out the x, y, and z values using “getAcceleration()”, it just prints out zeros for everything.

I’ve gone over the wiring a bunch of times and it all looks correct to me. We also checked to voltage on the pins and it seems to change when we shake the accelerometer, so I don’t think it’s broken. Our java and crio are both up to date (as of today). I’ve never used I2C before, so there might be something obvious I’m missing. Any help would be appreciated.

We seem to be having the same problem. We will continue to research it, if we resolve it we will report back.

Did you wire it correctly? We had the saem problem with our gyro, but it turned out it the pwm was not supposed to be in the digi-sidecar.

Good luck!

You have the wires going to the special pins on the digital sidecar? There are two sets of four, and you want the set closer to the edge.

I know it doesn’t add much, but our team had this same problem last year. We followed the diagram as best we could, and even asked on CD. I guess we can look forward to having the same problem this year, too :slight_smile:

Are you using the flat ribbon db37 cable included in this years KoP, or the previous round one?

As promised, we resolved it by following ggorsuch’s recommendation. Apparently the older round cable doesn’t work for this purpose. Also, be sure to follow the directions here to make sure your flat cable is “built” correctly. Again, thanks ggorsuch for your help on this issue.

It is weird that it doesn’t work with the old cable. We had the same problem. It has worked in previous years. It must have to do with the different slot the dio module goes in.

we were following that a week ago and we broke our cable… so do we really need to order another one?

The sensor manual says