Advantages between scouting apps vs. sheets

So I’m new to FRC and scouting in general, but our scouting team was told to decide between using a scouting app via phones and laptops versus using the old school pen and paper sheet method. Do you guys have any input on the advantages and disadvantages of each system and which one you think our team should use, also if you suggest the app approach could you possibly suggest an app to use. Another note, our scouting team would have 7 to 8 people if that helps.

What isn’t important is how you gather information what is important is that you gather information that will help you as you go to perform in competition. Scouting is the ability to gather data that you can bring to a conversation on how to do the most in a match. I have a voice recorder on my phone that I use for note taking when I don’t have pen or paper. Pen and paper is my go to

An easy, reliable system is just tracking the basics of quantitative data on paper, then inputting the data into an excel spreadsheet.

We were shortstaffed for scouting at IRI 2014, so all we tracked was successful high goals/attempted high Goals and successful trusses/attempted trusses.
That’s all the information we really needed.

Lastly, while a fancy tablet system is cool to show off and uses less paper, if something goes wrong with programming or anything, the data is lost. Pen and paper scouting systems are infallible, even if your excel database explodes.

Until someone dumps a Coke on it, or it falls over the edge of the stands…

Nothing is infallible. If you can design a quick entry electronic system, so that way as you’ll save time overall. Paper systems are unwieldly but simple. Data entry is very time consuming. You have to decide what you can accomplish with your resources.

Fair enough :smiley: