Advice on Running a Demoralized Team

I’m the current president of my FRC Team, but I’m having a lot of trouble running the team and I’m getting pretty concerned over the upcoming season and the future of my team.

To give some context, when I was a freshman I got pretty involved with the team, primarily through programming. Our 2018 and 2019 season weren’t too successful, having not been chosen for alliance selection at our district champs. Since then, our team has been on a bit of a decline. Our 2020 robot had many issues and most likely would not have made it far in competition (with the one offseason we did being poor, but to be fair that was our first competition in over two years). While we participated in the virtual challenges last year, it was put together haphazardly. While we have some passionate students, a majority of students seem only to come to our team to hang out with friends or do homework.

Currently we’re about a month away from kickoff and we had just introduced new freshmen into our team. I’m afraid they’ll sense the energy of our team and either get turned away or fall into the same unproductive trap. I’m not sure what to do to remotivate my team into becoming decently competitive again (or at the very least be sustainable).

For me, I wouldn’t mind staying at our warehouse for days straight improving our skills and preparing for the season. Unfortunately, the rest of the team doesn’t have the same energy and I don’t know how to inspire them to feel the same way about this program. I do believe our team still has potential, as we were a seeded team in our world’s division in 2017. I’m just lost on how to bring back that passion and willingness to work on our team.

This description was very rushed and I apologize for any details I’ve left out. If you all have any questions or have any advice for how to overcome this obstacle please let me know.